Poem In memory of George Floyd

0 4
Avatar for Ben10
Written by
3 years ago

I want to breathe

But I cant breathe

I could not see his face

His knee was on my neck

Life was going fast away from my soul

I want to breathe

But I can't breathe

46yrs ago, I learnt my first word

Mama! mama! mama!

25th May 2020,I spoke my last word

Mama! mama! mama!

And I still pleaded because

I want to breathe

But I cant breathe

My color was black

His color was white

My crime was black

His right was white

I still want to breathe

But I cant breathe

Minneapolis is burning

Real Americans are angry

The world is shocked in disbelief

Because I wanted to breathe

But i cant breathe

They were four of them

Four messengers of death

I saw the face of my wife

I felt the smiles of my kids

I remembered my friends

For their sake

I just needed to breathe

But I cant breathe

I asked for water

The pain was getting more

My neck hurts

My stomach hurts

My eyes were closed in agony

My offence again?

My color was black

His color was white

I have paid the price

Price of being black

Cry no more Minneapolis

I was one of the added numbers

My blood on that pavement

Will always remember that

I wanted to breathe

But I had no right to breathe

My offence again?

My color was black

My name George Floyd

My crime was black

His color was white

His name Derek Chauvin

His right was white

He has the right to breathe

I want to breathe

I can't breathe!

But someday this battle shall

Be over.

I go in peace but remember

25th May 2020

Mama!mama!mama!

My last word!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ben10
Written by
3 years ago

Comments