How I survived Online Esl Teaching?

5 10
Avatar for Belle27
3 years ago

People around the world feel the same I feel specially that we are on the same boat. Nowadays, people wants or forced to work from home and I am one of them. But how?

It was my dreamed to teach online to different English learners around the globe without a help from any coach about what's I'm going to take. I am a highschool graduate, I don't have experience about online jobs, I had stammering speech, I don't have enough money to buy my needs and I don't know where to start.

I was considered myself lucky when I had the chance to apply on my first ESL company. I just went to someone's house to just borrow their computer and searched for companies that don't require degree. For the first and second time of my application, I failed because of my speaking lapses. But I didn't lost hope until I found a company that had an easy application process and they didn't had interview process. So I studied the demo and try my first luck but I failed. Luckily, I passed on my second attempt. Oh! what a relief.

Yeah, I passed. But... It's so hard. I'm so shy. Imagine, I am an introvert person and for the first time you will be teaching adult Japanese students and almost free talking??? Oh men..I would rather go back to the farm than to feel embarrassed about my stammer speaking skills. But I need this? So, I did my best to improve my English Speaking skills everyday. Also, I borrowed money to set up my own computer room.

Even though I had low ratings from the students but as long as I am paid then so be it. Until such time that I am now comfortably using the platform and lesson materials. I am not that so perfect on my speaking skills but I'm still learning. And still hoping that someday, I can speak the language confidently with a heart.

Now, I had reach 4.95 rating from 4.75 of 5, I had now a lot of students. There is no hindrance to be feared of if you have the patience and dedication to learn something new. There is always a way if you want to.

ps. Sorry for my grammar. I am just a beginner.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Belle27
3 years ago

Comments

Hi! Question. I'm not sure if this is true but if you're consistent with a low rating, there's a chance you're gonna get fired?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah that's true. Actually my account was deactivated because of my low ratings before but since then, I started to improve myself by watching English tutorials. So now, I think my students enjoys the way how I teach them according from my reviews.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How did you manage to get your account activated again? Or you applied to a new company already?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For deactivated account, the company requires us to send them an improvement plan. But if you get another deactivation maybe they could terminate your account and you need to apply after 6 months again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. So that's how it works. Thank you for this explanation. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago