I prep my meals and why you should too

5 29
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
2 years ago

It is time to meal prep again.

It’s been over 15 days that I am back from my 45-day vacation at home and yesterday was the first time I went to shop for groceries. It is not that I have eaten out all these days, or that I just ate ready to eat food, well, I sort of did eat ready to eat food but straight from the freezer. I did have pantry food available and the only things I had to get from the store were some fruits, onion, tomatoes, milk, bread and egg, and some fresh herbs.

I have a small freezer, the kind that comes with a regular refrigerator. And even after eating many meals from the freezer, it is no where near empty. But it is time to stock up again.

Why I freeze my meals

1.      It is convenient.

2.      I shop my pantry and freezer before planning my meals for the week.

3.      It avoids wastage of food.

4.      It saves a lot of time over the week. Since Most of my food is already prepped.

5.      I am mindful of what I eat over the week.

6.      It is cost effective.

7.      I have options for what I want to eat.

8.      Since I have to cook anyways, I make an extra potion that can go starting to the freezer.

 What I prepped for the Week.

Fried Rice – Stir fried veggies for fried rice. So, the day I want to eat fried rice, I simply make rice, add protein (chicken, egg, tofu, paneer) and the cooked veggies and my meal is ready in no time. I have a potion for the freezer and one for the week in the fridge. Well, if it doesn’t get consumed in the next couple of days, this goes straight to the freezer.

Spinach curry Base – This is so I can make Aloo Palak / Palak Paneer / Palak Tofu / Palak Capsicum. I only need to make some bread or Cumin rice.

Freeze Mushrooms and spring onion – I anyways spend time chopping the veggies for the fried rice, so it didn’t take up too much time to clean and prep all that came in the box for the freezer.

Boil Lentils – This is something I do on a monthly basis. I boil lentils and freeze them in portions for a single use. I only have to season the lentils the days I want to eat it.

Peel Garlic

Ginger Garlic Paste

Cut Watermelon and clean grapes.

 It doesn’t sound like much, but it is almost a couple of meals for the freezer.

Do I plan to continue prepping meals this entire week? No. Maybe a vegetable stew. And, I am going to double or triple my recipe so I have some for the freezer.

By doubling the recipe or tripling the recipes, over a period of time, I cook only for 15 days in a month. I think this is great motivation for me to stock up my freezer.

Thank you for reading :)

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Beauty-and-the-beast
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
2 years ago

Comments

Awesome prepped meals, I think I'll take into account this your idea and do it myself also, when I have the time that is. 45day hmmm vacation sounds nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that is the only way I can manage work and eat home cooked food on a daily basis. It is less stressful when it is meal times. Start with the absolute basics depending on what you enjoy eating. If you see it in the freezer section in the supermarket, then it can be frozen at home too. Happy meal prepping.

I go home once or twice a year and it feels good to be back home. Time flies and 45 days went by in a jiffy. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh now I fully grasps the 45days statement... Thanks a lot for this tip, I'd do well to always remember it. And yeah time flies fast when it is limited, and especially when you're enjoying it lool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to start your routine at home after 45 days means you are still use to ut

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely... I took some time to get back to my routine. But it feels good to be back in the kitchen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago