How much money is enough for me?

0 22
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
2 years ago

How much do we need to live a comfortable life? Have we become such a consumeristic society. that we look away from the pain and need of others with the greed in our minds and hearts to make more and hoard more. But for whom? Do we really need all that we are accumulating and hoarding? Are we hoarding for our next generation. But what if, the world is not going to be the way it is when they are all grown up. Is it but a waste of our efforts and our time, time that could have been used differently. And then again, we want to provide better for our next generation or even for ourselves as we get another year older.

This is a thought I had today. How much is enough for me. I tried to break it down in my head, and weird enough. the numbers kept going higher and higher.

Ok, so there are the monthly bills - gas, rent, phone, internet, electricity, water and groceries. I can put a number to these. If I earned enough to cover these costs, is it enough for me?

Going out - Well, this really just depends on where we go, how many times in a month we head out and what we eat when we go out and where we eat at. Some months, we hardly go out places and just meet friends at home and order in, while some months the outgoings are extravagant full day adventures. Well, I should be prepared for both right. Now, if I made enough for my essentials and have sufficient for outings, is it enough for me?

Shopping - I am not much of a shopper and strive to be a minimalist, but let's just say, I want to go on a shopping spree, how much is enough for me?

Well, we look forward to vacations and holidays, even if it just means going home. Sure, now we need more of the moolah's to have a good one. Well, the numbers have just added up already to quite a bit every month. How much will ever be enough for me?

We have not even included savings and investments, Save for that next trip or invest more for the future. How much is enough for me?

Budgeting is not that hard. But sticking to the set budget month after month, achieving milestones is the difficult part. I can create a budget sheet in a couple of days, but there have been numerous times, the budget sheet was not even opened once it was created.

If I cannot stick to a budget, how will I ever know how much is truly enough for me? The mini plan for this year is to create for myself a basic budget plan - Groceries and bills to start with and try to stick to that plan, without going overboard especially in the grocery stores.

2
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Beauty-and-the-beast
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
2 years ago

Comments