A chore I put off but until today

0 25
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
1 year ago

I have decided that today is the day, I get to the tasks that are not an absolute necessity but has been on my wish list to complete for some time now. It is decluttering of my digital space. All those emails that have remained unopen for the many weeks. All the photographs on the phone. This is something I wish I could be more regular in decluttering.

Emails - I think I will start with the emails, go through all my inboxes, unsubscribe to newsletters, those that have just sat waiting to be opened. Delete Junk, delete spam emails.

But why do I not do it on a regular basis?

Because it is too boring a task to get to. It is time consuming and it consumes a lot of mind space while it is in progress.

And why do I want to do it now?

Because important emails get lost in the clutter. It is a waste of time, when looking for a specific email. Moreover, it uses valuable server space. And we all know that it costs money to keep the server going.

Photographs – All of us with smart phones are probably guilty of this. We take way too many photos, some are blurry, some are repeat, some not that great, but they continue to sit on our phones.

I will go through all the photos, delete repeats, or ones that don’t make sense to me anymore, screenshot images, media on messaging platforms. At the end of it, I want to upload the images I decide to keep in folders named properly and in USB drives. Rid my phone from all the images so far. Maybe, just maybe, I will come across a few images that is going to take me back to those memories. And I may end up on this task for way longer than I intend to. But it is something I am going to do today.

It might seem like the most mundane task and something that one would do when there is absolutely nothing else in mind. This for me, has been a conscious effort and a lot of thought has gone into making this chore an absolute must. Less Clutter, More Mind Space.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Beauty-and-the-beast
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Beauty-and-the-beast
1 year ago

Comments