Exploring the Mangrove Sanctuary of Abu Dhabi

1 15
Avatar for Bansokoy
2 years ago

The cooler months are here now. Gone were the humid, hazy days and the scorching heat that dampen my mood and zest to go out and explore.

As a nature lover, I really love to discover what nature has in store for us.

Despite living in the Middle East for over a decade now, there are indeed ample opportunities to commune with nature.

Contrary to what I have perceived in the past that living near the equator deprives us the chance to enjoy nature as its best, I have discovered this notion as a passe.

Coming over to the United Arab Emirates in 2008, I carried with me thoughts about an arid, barren, desolate and inhospitable place.

Regrettably, I was totally wrong.

The moment I stepped out from the Abu Dhabi International Airport a brush of cold breeze touched my cheeks. It was a sweet, welcoming gesture I received from this Arab country, I chuckled to myself then.  

I was expecting my arrival would be something upsetting. All the while, I was thinking that I would need to endure a hot, harsh environment but I was surprised to my discovery.

Adding to my amazement were the trees and a variety of flowers sprawling everywhere in the capital. Manicured lawns, beautifully carved landscapes and more trees along the roads have truly impressed me.

My perception about Abu Dhabi back then was really distorted. Immediately, I fell in love with the place!

It was March 16, 2008, the tail-end of the winter season here. I would never forget this date as it was my first time to embark on a journey in a foreign land.

So fast forward to 2021 and after almost two years of hiatus due to COVID 19 restrictions, I and my family prepared a long list of places to go and activities to enjoy in this winter season.

Our first in the bucket list is visiting the Mangrove National Park.

Who would have believed that Abu Dhabi is home to a massive expanse of mangroves sprawled over acres of land, so well-preserved that wildlife thrives here amid a busy, lively metropolis?

Locals and residents can just visit the Mangrove National Park as it is situated strategically within the city.

There are options visitors can choose.

Either to go to Salam Street to enjoy sight-seeing, bird watching and indulge the cool winter breeze in a long stretch of a public park or head on to Jubail Mangrove Park and pay a minimal fee to get the experience of walking through the mangrove forest.

We opted for two to maximize the experience.

One Friday morning, after the fog has settled down, we drove to Salam Street.

Here, the park is so vast that you can just bask in the sun, enjoy the beautiful scenery, have a lovely chat with your family or friends or simply enjoy the picnic or the company of your book.

There are free exercise gears, kiosks, children’s playgrounds, and even mounted telescopes available for visitors to use.

However, in this area, there is no way you can go near the mangroves.

There’s a water channel that separate the mangroves from the park. One option is to go to Eastern Mangrove Hotel as they offer kayaking and boating to explore the mangrove forest.

The mangrove park is protected by the Environment Agency of Abu Dhabi. It provides sanctuary to herons, crabs, fish, flamingos even to turtles and even to mammals like dolphins and dugong.

Watching it from a distance is really a sight to behold.

Listening to the chirping of the birds, watching them glide in the skies, enjoying the cool breeze while your children are playing and your husbands are exercising courtesy of the park’s free fitness amenities, such is a really an enjoyable experience.

In Jubail Park, visitors will have the chance to explore up-close-and-personal the mangroves. For a minimum fee of 15 AED for adults and 10AED for minors, visitors can walk through a wooden pathway that stretches as far as 2km.

The meandering boardwalk is already an attraction and Jubail Park is leveling up the experience as they offer a kayaking experience.

Visiting these places is really worth an experience. It’s really like we are home. In the Philippines, being a tropical country, we enjoy the blessings of mangroves thriving everywhere.

Sponsors of Bansokoy
empty
empty
empty

Having my 3-year-old child experience it here in a desert country gives him the opportunity to understand the importance of mangroves to a healthy, sustainable ecosystem.

Glad to have this opportunity to enjoy the mangrove. It’s something I didn’t expect but something I am grateful and will treasure.

Nov 24, 2021
Image My own

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Bansokoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bansokoy
2 years ago

Comments

Oh that's very nice. Yes mangroves are important too not only as a tourist destination. It helps protect people from flood, food scarcity and storms. In just don't understand those people who are selfish and cut them illegally. Tsk tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago