Navi Disappeared

0 9

Navi has disappeared

Her small patch of earth

Midst

Smoldering garbage mounds

Turned into a morass

A muddy sinkhole

By the punishing

Phnom Penh rains.

Her few possessions

Heaped moldy

Sad remnants

Of an impoverished life

Sodden

Abandoned

Like dispossessed corpses

Littering an

Abandoned battlefield.

Vainly I search

For her

Gap toothed face

Lined

Angelic face

Strain ears to hear

The cherubic chortle of her son

But Navi is gone

Round and around

The monastery complex

I wander

Carrying the

Water I have brought her

But Navi is gone

Wading through

Fetid puddles

Fecund stagnant

Breeding grounds

Of mosquito hordes

But Navi is gone

Searching each cranny

Of crumbling

Masonry that

Shelters

Begrimed denizens

Who sit vacant eyed

Staring

I plaintively

Ask

Navi?

My only answers

Indifferent shrugs

There is no answer

Why she never

Came with

Her

Shining boy

To take shelter

From the pummeling rains

Helping three people

Herself

Her adorable child

Who I had

Already begun to love

And me

I go inside the temple room

Paying respects

To Buddha

Beautifully seated

Smiling and peaceful

Offer her a prayer

But no answer do I receive

Navi has disappeared.

2
$ 0.00

Comments