Pure soul

0 12
Avatar for Bagdad
Written by
3 years ago

Reason says, “ I will beguile him with the tongue.”; Love says,

“Be silent. I will beguile him with the soul.”

The soul says to the heart, “Go, do not laugh at me and yourself.

What is there that is not his, that I may beguile him

thereby?”

He is not sorrowful and anxious and seeking oblivion that I

may beguile him with wine and a heavy measure.

The arrow of his glance needs not a bow that I should beguile

the shaft of his gaze with a bow.

He is not prisoner of the world, fettered to this world of earth,

that I should beguile him with gold of the kingdom of the world.

He is an angel, though in form he is a man; he is not lustful

that I should beguile him with women.

Angels start away from the house wherein this form is, so how

should I beguile him with such a form and likeness?

He does not take a flock of horses, since he flies on wings; his

food is light, so how should I beguile him with bread?

He is not a merchant and trafficker in the market of the world

that I should beguile him with enchantment of grain and loss.

He is not veiled that I should make myself out sick and utter

sighs, to beguile him with lamentation.

I will bind my head and bow my head, for I have got out of

hand; I will not beguile his compassion with sickness or fluttering.

Hair by hair he sees my crookedness and feigning; what’s

hidden from him that I should beguile him with anything hidden.

He is not a seeker of fame, a prince addicted to poets, that I

should beguile him with verses and lyrics and flowing poetry.

The glory of the unseen form is too great for me to beguile it

with blessing or Paradise.

Shams-e Tabriz, who is his chosen and beloved–perchance I

will beguile him with this same pole of the age.

1
$ 0.00

Comments