I Sold My Soul for some Sol and I Lost - My Story

0 17
Avatar for BadmanKD
2 years ago

Like almost everybody in crypto today, I was skeptical about the entire thing and pleas from my friends already in the field were not enough to convince me. I couldn't wrap my head around the fact that a person could make money from selling imaginary tokens on the internet. You couldn't blame me though, I witnessed the financial fall of some of my friends after services like MMM crashed, just like crypto, they invested money "online" and when it was all over, some were lucky enough to cash out whilst others(most where my friends) ended up losing a huge amount of money. I wasn't taking advice from these folks and I shut out crypto from my life, for three good years.

Fast forward to 2021, the economy was in shambles, people could no longer go outside to make money thanks to the pandemic, and the world was forced to turn to the internet. Me not liking crypto didn't mean I didn't understand the concept of making money online. I had grown accustomed to the money side of the internet and was making a steady income from sites like Upwork and Fiverr where I freelanced as a writer. But I still had this belief that a person must work hard in other to earn a dime, this was one of the foundational reasons that stalled my cryptocurrency journey. It all changed when my friend/roommate received a Solana airdrop worth over 20,000 USD (at its peak) from barely filling forms, joining discord groups, and following Twitter accounts. The drop was worth 1000 USD at the time he received it and for us back here in Nigeria where the exchange rate was over 500 Naira per Dollar, 1000$ for doing the bare minimum was a huge amount of money.

I shunned as skepticism I had and downloaded the necessary applications to my phones. But being the unlucky guy I am, I saw nothing. I couldn't blame anyone though, the blockchain was probably punishing me for my years of ignorance and skepticism. My lucky friend was wise and used the money from the airdrop(which had pumped over $3000) to invest in several coins, including Solana. Being the good friend he was, he begged me to buy a few Solana( Solana was worth $27 then) but I refused, if it wasn't for free, I am not getting into crypto. Well, I am assuming you guys are already bored, and with this being my first post here, I don't want to get on your nerves so I will just cut the story short.

I ended up not buying Solana till it was $89. Yes $89 USD, imagine the profit I would have made if I wasn't so stupid. One would think that I would have learned my lesson, but boy was I stubborn. I ended up not buying till it pumped to 120 US Dollars!. Honestly, for a brief moment, I was engulfed in a regret-induced depression and couldn't wrap my head around my stupidity. I gave in and spent a huge chunk of my money buying in at 125$. Yea, after years of freelancing, I ended up spending most of my income on this, jeopardizing my savings and potentially ruining my life. All those thoughts went out the window when Solana hit a new ATH of $240, almost doubling my initial capital. I was thrilled beyond measures and felt on top of the world but for how long?

The massive dip of November came and everything started to fall, I was warned once again to remove a chunk of my earnings before it was too late, but for someone who didn't believe in crypto a few months ago, it was hard to believe that I refused to heed to this advice. Well it's February and Solana is at $11o, I have uninstalled all apps relating to crypto because come on, I am at a big loss and if I take a peek at my portfolio, my life may come to an end. The state of my Sol might just be the end of my soul. But these experiences are there for us to learn I guess, I have gone back to writing and that's why I am here, hoping to recoup my lost sol/soul and find my true self. I am not perfect but follow this space for exciting long reads. Thank you. I am open to any advice on crypto too!

2
$ 2.17
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BadmanKD
2 years ago

Comments