My City Life Story: Why I Care About Urbanism

8 30
Avatar for Badhon88
3 years ago

Why this and not something else?

What makes urban living important enough to blog about?  Why did I choose this?  Why not a food or baking blog, or how-to decorating tips, or a blog devoted to children's literature (okay, I haven't totally ruled that one out--stay tuned!), or a "mommy blog" (ugh that term is annoying), or a journal of my stream of consciousness?  It's a valid question.  I could have picked any one of those when I started writing here a few years ago, but I doubt they would be of interest to anyone besides a few loyal friends or relatives.  I wouldn’t contribute much that is unique in any of those areas; so many thousands of blogs already exist in those spaces.  Adding my voice to the clamor would be pointless and narcissistic (wait, isn't that true of all blogs? there's my cynicism talking).  But when I searched, I couldn't find any blogs in this particular niche:  combining personal experience of family life in the city with actual research and statistics on urbanism theory.  I enjoy writing and research, and I also love city life, so this fits my interests and skills and could (maybe) contribute something valuable.  I've been surprised and grateful to hear that this blog has actually been helpful to some who are moving to Indy from elsewhere.  I hope it will continue to help Indy residents with kids discover great new things about their city, how to make the most of life here, and how to work towards strengthening the city and making it better for everyone.

What my parents did right {without knowing it}

I believe there may be some practical wisdom to be gleaned from my “city girl” life story.  Here's something I'm sure you already know:  what you do as a parent -- where you live, the places you go regularly with your kids and the types of activities you do together -- matters quite a lot to your child's development.  The life you create for your family influences your kids' perceptions of what is “normal,” their preferences, potential stereotypes, and future choices.  Please note what I'm not saying: I don't want to add undue pressure to anyone's choices, as parenting is already hard enough!  There's not one right way to parent.  However, lifestyle decisions and family traditions can make a big difference and are worth careful thought and mindful reflection.  My own parents’ choices deeply affected my experience of childhood. Where they chose to live, where they sent us to school, what we did with our free time, how many scheduled extracurricular activities we were part of, and what they trusted us to do on our own all had a major impact on my life.  

5
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
Avatar for Badhon88
3 years ago

Comments

nice article also visit my page

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very informative article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tnx dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wlc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article...dear..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tnx dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago