Unemployed

1 78
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

What do you tolerate at work? When does the moment come when you raise your voice?

You can never tell the boss if you don't like something? Can you expect that if the boss has a problem with you, let him tell you like an adult? Do you tolerate punishing you instead of communicating? To provide you with such and so many tasks that were not your job before? And with all those unrealistic expectations, should he hold you accountable? Do you ask your colleagues why they are treated differently all of a sudden? You know you made a mistake, but you don't know what. You ask, but no one tells you. But you feel the change. Your boss will leave you a message on a sticky note about what your duties will be for that day. The tasks are weird again, and the boss leaves the note in a place where the tasks of others are used to. You wouldn’t even think there could be a message for you in that place. Nobody tells you about the note ... You accidentally find it and start doing the tasks. The boss appears and asks if the tasks are ready. You say no and he asks why? You say you can’t do those tasks so quickly. (This would be true even if you had found the note at the very beginning of the shift). Not because you are slow, but because it is impossible. The boss leaves but returns in a few minutes to start arguing with you about what happened. You are already angry at the helplessness of the strange treatment that has been going on for days, your unknown fault.

What do you do?

Do you keep quiet?

Do you apologize for not being able to meet the unrealistic new expectations?

Are you telling your boss he's not right and you don't understand why he's doing this to you all of a sudden?

Do you know the feeling when the fog descends in front of your face? When you can no longer hear and see you are just trying not to explode?

I simply turned my back on my talking boss and headed for the locker room. He yelled not to leave when he spoke to me. I didn't look back. So he shouted "Okay, this was your last day of work" And all I said was "I thought so too." Because whoever wants to keep his job can't do that, but when I left I already knew I didn't want to go back the next day.

When I got out of the locker room, my boss and I were yelling at each other for a few more minutes. Then I came home.

Well ... I know this whole story, not everyone agrees. Understandable. Maybe in my previous job, I was lucky with the bosses. I was appreciated in all my work, if I or my boss had a problem, we could always speak honestly.

When I started working at this job, I asked the boss for the same. I asked if he didn’t like something in my job, let’s discuss it. If someone doesn’t tell me I’m doing something wrong, you won’t change it because I won’t know he thinks otherwise. That's right, isn't it? I believe that proper communication can solve many problems and save us a lot of stress.

So I'm unemployed.

I still don’t know what was the deed or word that made them start treating me differently. But I know I can’t stand someone treating me like a doormat. And that’s a good analogy, because yesterday I had to scrape the stuck dirt off the floor with a spatula while colleagues were working and crawling around me. Sounds good? It’s a wonder they didn’t step on me or I didn’t have to lick their shoes. A little exaggeration.

/images source : Pixabay

4
$ 12.87
$ 12.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 2
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

Comments

I agree, communication is the key to everything. You boss might have heard something that wasn’t true or maybe he had a bad day and took it out on you. Ghosting you like this was very unprofessional. I’m sure you’ll find a better boss eventually. I for once am not planning to go back to work. Being self employed is the best thing I did for myself 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago