The story of our engagement- wonderful surprise

2 34
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago
Topics: Stories

Every woman wants her engagement day to be truly special and beautiful and perfect. But perfection means something different to everyone, so the prospective groom needs to think really carefully about when and how to take this step to truly impress the one chosen by his heart.

Many people choose a holiday for their engagement, such as a birthday, anniversary, Christmas, or Valentine’s Day. Valentine’s Day is an absolutely good time as we celebrate love on that day. However, if it’s time for an engagement in our relationship then it might not be such a big surprise if it happens on Valentine’s Day.

Of course, not everyone wants this experience to be a surprise, in fact, there are those who decide on an engagement together and organize it together.

I have always longed for it to come as a surprise to me, to be romantic and memorable. And I got exactly what I wanted.

When we spent our first Christmas together with Imre, we saw on social media that many of our friends were getting engaged as Christmas gifts. Then I told Imre that if our relationship is going to be long and he will want to marry me sometime then don't do it at Christmas. I don’t want to get an engagement ring for Christmas, neither for my birthday, nor for Valentine’s Day. And he remembered that.

Engagement rings are usually gold rings. I prefer silver accessories and Imre know this about me of course. So I got whitegold ring 😍 it’s gold but it’s beautiful with my silver accessories.

Also part of the story is that a friend of mine called me a few weeks before the engagement. She said we will have the opportunity to join a free course organized by the municipality for its employees, but there are still some vacancies. I was very happy with the opportunity because the courses were quite expensive anyway and I wanted to learn something new. So of course I said yes and we discussed that she would call me again if she already knew the details, date, etc.

Then one day she called to say that there would be a meeting where the course organizer and participants would meet to discuss the details of the course and that meeting would be in a cafe. Then the day before the meeting, she called me again and asked me to go to the meeting pretty nicely. I didn't understand why she was asking me to. It’s true that the cafe is a good category place, but not so much that you can only go there in elegant clothes. Her request was so strange to me that her behavior was offensive to me. I thought she thought I was a poorly dressed person with whom she would be reluctant to go there with her.

The day has arrived.

My friend came for me by car and we went to the cafe together. We arrived earlier than the date of the meeting so we could safely have a coffee together and have a little chat before the others arrived. 

My photo of the cofè’s door

The café is located in a medieval castle in the city center, and its terrace is in the castle courtyard. We sat down on the terrace with our coffee and started talking. Suddenly musicians appeared in the castle yard and started making music. There are events in the castle many times and I thought music was a prelude to such an event. I liked the music, I smiled at the musicians, the drummer smiled back at me. Until the last minute, I didn’t know what was going on around me.

The musicians played Bruno Mars’s song Marry me, with Imre appearing at the door of the castle courtyard with a bouquet of flowers.

I looked at Imre in amazement, then at the musicians, again at Imre, again at the musicians, again at Imre. The events ran through my brain and I only understood what was happening when Imre was already kneeling in front of me. You could say I’m slow, but it was really a huge surprise for me all.

Of course I said yes. 

The text in Imre’s hand means “she said yes”

Then a photographer friend of ours took some photos of us and then we went to our favorite restaurant for lunch. After lunch we went to a park a few kilometers away to walk and admire nature. It was a perfect day.

I was very proud of Imre for organizing everything so well. And every participant these days was very skillful. In the cafe, I didn’t notice the musicians waiting inside. I didn’t notice my friend lying to me (that’s a little worrying) and I didn’t figure out why she asked me to be pretty. Anyway, unfortunately I ignored her request. The meeting we arrived for, of course, did not exist. The course was real anyway, but no meeting was arranged.

It was a huge surprise to me. It was exactly the day I wanted.



4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago
Topics: Stories

Comments

Wow, congrats! What a wonderful engagement indeed. I have something similar planned or my SO, hopefully it will be a complete surprise for her too. But it's still a bit further in the future... I don't think you mentioned any times, was your engagement recently? I think especially now, when people are still in lockdown in many places, planning an engagement like this can be near impossible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, it would be really difficult to do it nowadays. Our was 2 years ago. I forget to write that’s it’s not a fresh story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago