My passion overcame my fear! A funny story and how i won

8 105
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

There are a few things I am very afraid of. For example, the dentist. I have very bad experiences with this so I try to go to the dentist as few times as possible.

But my story is not about the dentist but about the bees, the wasps, the beetles.

Everyone says you shouldn’t swing, you shouldn’t make sudden moves because then the wasp will bite you. These are tips I could never follow.

When a wasp flew near me I always immediately started screaming, running and flying with my hands. That’s why people laughed at me many times and advised me not to do this. But honestly, this tactic worked for me and until a year ago, I was never pinched by a wasp.

Actually, when the wasp bitten me, there was no problem with my escape tactics either, but I just didn’t notice the danger. My head itched, I wanted to scratch it, but I didn’t think the reason for the itching was because I had a wasp in my hair. So I reached for my hair and received a sharp pain as the wasp sting drilled into my nail bed. But okay, I survived. Now at least I know what I'm afraid of.

My most frightening experience on this topic.

Probably everyone sees this story differently. It may be funny to you, it is to me now, but I am serious that I had a fear of death there then. My partner had to go to one of the nearby villages to evaluate a work, he told me to go with him because he was going to a nice place.

We were on the edge of the village and the view was beautiful. Two men were working on something on the street, I walked past them, walked down the slope, admired the beautiful view, took pictures. I walked far because I saw a hunter lookout tower at the bottom of the hill and wanted to see it.

I was already heading backwards when I suddenly heard a loud buzzer, a hornet flew behind me. Using my usual tactics, I ran on and on for about 5 meters. But that huge creature followed me. I ran a few more meters, but couldn’t escape it. At that moment, I already knew that it wasn’t just flying there simply, it wanted me.

I started in a crazy rush, but I couldn’t be faster than him. I've been running zigzags already, you know, like they're shooting at me. Nothing proved useful either. Eventually, I pulled my sweater over my head, waved it with my bag, and ran as I could. Then I thought, taking advantage of our momentum, I would suddenly stop and hope that he would fly on. That's what happened, but he soon turned back. I seriously thought I would no longer be able to fend off this attack. I was already in a hysterical state. As he flew in front of me, I started running towards him again and tried to dodge him at the last minute. It worked. And he gave up. God! He gave up! He flew on.

The two workers at the top of the hill watched my pathetic struggle. As I walked past them, I panted big, I sweated, I was tousled, they laughed and asked me, "Maybe you saw a wild boar?"

I’m sure I threw up their day with my comedy-fitting portrayal.

I laugh at this story today too, but then I was very scared there.

What helped me reduce my fears?

Ever since I’ve been more active in using social networking sites, microblogging or blogging sites, I’ve become more and more interested in photography.

This thing started on Kiki, continued on Tsu and is still on noise.cash. While the latter is a little different, I don’t feel as important about the photos.

So I started striving to take the best photos I could, to use image editors as skillfully as possible, to photograph as many subjects as possible.

I always looked enviously at photos of others with bees working on flowers. Simply the perfect combination. I also wanted to take photos like this.

At first I took photos from far away with a big zoom and then I ran away. Then from time to time I dared to get closer and dare to stay there. I try to think that the wasp / bee I photograph doesn't care at all that I'm there next to it until I disturb him at work.

So I move slowly and quietly. Maybe it wouldn’t even be necessary, but I’m trying to be careful. Many times my little boy is with me when I try to photograph a bee. I hope that by doing so he will be less afraid of them later than I am.

Of course, even today, I get really scared if my subject suddenly starts flying. But I think my passion for photography and my desire to improve has helped me a lot to reduce my fear and slowly overcome it.

Anyway, I think we can’t and shouldn’t command our emotions. And fear is also an emotion.

But like all our other emotions, we can handle fear properly. Maybe we need to move a little out of our comfort zone, put ourselves to the test. Maybe the fear won’t go away, but it will diminish or transform.

If you feel like it, write in a comment what kind of fear or phobia you were able to overcome.

(The photos in this article are taken by me)

5
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @MarSou
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

Comments

The story with the hornet amused me, but the truth is that one such big hornet lives in our yard and if someone is outside and he also flies after me like a dog. I'm afraid of him and he knows it. He doesn't attack but it's scary when you're close to him and he thinks you're in his space. I think he's protecting his territory and he doesn't want me there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'But okay, I survived. Now at least I know what I'm afraid of' - this and many other parts made me laugh out loud many time while reading your article Alexandra. It is very well written and pictured are absolutely stunning! I recognise some of them, especially the one up the hill with your trainers in view and dandelion with the bee.

I'm so happy to read that you have overcome your fear of stinging insects. I strongly believe that like dogs, they can pick up on our fear and this can make them attack you. I don't remember being afraid of bees, but some spiders can make me shaky 😅 I'm doing my best to overcome my fear for the same reason as you - I want to take better and better pictures and also I know they're my helpers in the garden.

I also have a good feeling about this article. I bet Rusty will notice you more now! I really really wish you this 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kindness. ☺️ Your opinion means a lot to me. I also afraid of spiders 😅 the big spiders.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the big and fat ones! Or even worse - the hairy ones 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsss tsss shame on you..."laugh out loud many times"... Not me...never 🙈😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 Sorryyyyy, I loved it, but I'm too visual, I saw the whole scene in my mind and here i am, laughing like crazy ... But with Love and Respect...and more laugh 😂😂🙈 Do you know the best medicine for my own fears: My twin sister 😂😂 she was afraid of everything so I had to toughen up to "protect" her from monsters - bees, Beatles, flies....what ever moves, flies, crawls 😂😂 Endless stories with me and her 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 😄 I am glad I made you laugh 😁 it’s really a funny story, and imagine how the workers laughed when they saw me 🙈 plus info: I am plump...imagine that crazy run with my big body🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're not "plump", you're Perfect!!! Never ever say anything down on yourself!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago