It's not easy to rent an apartment for me

0 26
Avatar for BSzandra
1 year ago

I threw myself into the search for housing. I want to rent a small apartment in a neighboring town. There are more job opportunities, my mother lives there too.

When Bence was diagnosed with autism, I was awarded a relatively large amount of support. The amount is equal to an average salary. Slightly more than the minimum wage. I can also take a job, but only part time. I will also receive child support from Bence's father. These incomes will start coming to me from next month, so I’m already looking for the right apartment. I think this money will be enough to make a living. We’re not going to live in the heat, I’m going to have to handle money very skillfully, but I don’t think that will be a problem because I’m used to having to solve our daily lives with very little money.

I knew it wouldn’t be easy to find an apartment, but honestly, I didn’t think it would be that hard. Unfortunately, the supply is very low and the demand is high, so we can say that we have to compete for the apartments and the landlords can ask the tenant for almost anything. For example, many landlords hire a real estate agent, but the cost of this must also be borne by the tenant. I don’t understand why I have to pay if he uses the service. Outrageous! As for the competition, unfortunately I am not in a good position. Singles, couples, families are all in front of me. No one wants to choose a single woman with a child. In very many cases, I am already rejected in the phone call. There was a man who even yelled at me. This shocked me. All right, he doesn't want to give me the apartment ... but it could be communicated in a kind tone.

There was also a man whose voice was not very friendly but he did not reject me but told me to call him again the next day. Of course, he hasn't picked up the phone since. The truth is that the biggest problem is not that I am a single woman with a child, but that I am not currently working. In vain do I tell them that my income is more than an average salary yet they are not interested. I don’t understand why a better tenant is the one who works for the minimum wage.

I know I will be able to pay the rent and the bills. I was very happy that my financial situation would get better soon. But that seems too little. I know I should lie that I have a job too. But I don't want to lie. The lies will sooner or later become apparent. And that's not my genre anyway. So only hope remains for me. But I won't give up!

2
$ 2.63
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
1 year ago

Comments