Accident or murder? How my father died?

10 33
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

What happened to my father? What happened the night he died? What is the truth? Accident or murder?Are there answers to these questions? No!

When I decided I wanted to take part in the writing prompt #5 by @JonicaBradley , I didn’t know what I was going to write about. I thought a lot about what kind of questions were going through my mind. Is there life after death? Will scientists find the secret of eternal life? Which came first, the hen or the egg? How many lies can there be in history books? Is there love at first sight? Are there real witches?

Then today a question came to my mind that I was trying to hide and not think about. What happened to my father?

My parents divorced when I was 5 years old and my father died when I was 11 years old. I have few memories of my father, and he is always drunk in my memories. He was an alcoholic.

It was November, that day was my birthday party. After my friends went home we planned the next day with my sister. We took out of the closet the clothes we wanted to wear the next day. My sister just took the black clothes out of the closet and i jokingly asked her, "somebody died?" When we went to the living room, my mother had just finished a phone conversation. She didn't say goodbye, just hung up the phone and buried her face in her hands, crying. We asked her what had happened but she couldn’t answer because of crying.

I asked "Dad?" She nodded. I asked "was he dead?" She nodded. I don't know how I could have known.

The first version described the story completely, and I didn’t even think then that it could just be an assumption.

My father went home drunk at night, pushing his bike on the sidewalk. He fell into the ditch and punched his head in a large stone, fainted. He later woke up and, wiping his bleeding head, set out to ask for help. His bloody fingerprints were on the bells of the houses, but where he rang there was just no one at home. Meanwhile, the blood clot caused by the fall reached his brain and he collapsed dead. His face was wrecked on the concrete.

But how does anyone know how he pushed the bike or sat on it? How does anyone know that he passed out and later got up? How does anyone know he fell at all?

When we went to his house, we saw a hole in the bathroom window. My dad’s brother said someone fired an air rifle through the window when my dad was shaving right there. Actually, as a kid back then, I didn’t think much of this, I thought someone just wanted to scare him because they might be quarreling drunk in the pub.

Image source: Pixabay

Years later, my sister told me that the story was a little more complicated than I know. But I was a kid, they couldn’t tell me more then. The information is still confusing and everyone is silent.

My dad was in the wrong place, he knew something he shouldn’t have known. And a few days after his death, he should have appeared in court as a witness. What did he see? Who did he see? I do not know. Coincidence? Or do I live in a damn movie? It’s all like a fictional story in a movie, like a cheap crime. But my father’s brother knew about the trial, and I’m sure he knows more, but he’s quiet.

Someone threatened my father, they didn’t want him to show up at the trial.

As an adult, my sister wanted to go to the police and check the documents. She wanted to know the truth. But our family told her not to do that! Don't get confused in the past. Maybe it's dangerous.

Nor am I sure my family doesn’t know the whole truth.

And what does a shattered face look like at the funeral home?

No one in the family saw the body ....

11
$ 0.90
$ 0.20 from @MarSou
$ 0.12 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of BSzandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for BSzandra
2 years ago

Comments

I felt like reading a crime/mystery drama novel. Sad thing is, this happened in real life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not easy Princess 😔 in a way, i am happy that you weren't living together, that probably "lessen" the pain cause you didn't saw him on a daily basis... But the questions are difficult to left behind. Hope you can find the truth some day... Or maybe not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It may not be appropriate what I say ... but there's nothing to miss. Most of the time, we haven't seen him in months. He promised to visit but we always waited in vain for him. What to say? Alcoholic ... But he was my father.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I figure that, he wasn't part of your life because he chose not to be. His lost. And better for you than having him drunk around all the time. Sorry the harshness, but it's the truth 😕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was sorry to hear about your father. And I would want closure one way or the other, to know what really happened if your family knows then tell you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like I'm watching a documentary. It's dreadful that there's a question in your head that you are not able to answer. And wanting the truth will never be out of your mind. It stays in your head.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe there is more to this. Obviously, someone knows something about this and that person is consoling himself or herself with the phrase that "The truth might hurt you". I am so sorry you had to go through all that even at a young age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry about what happened to your father, but when I read it, I remembered that we had a neighbor of a heavy alcoholic who rode a bicycle from the pub and fell so that he injured his spinal cord and paralyzed his whole body. I think karma has hit. He beat his wife until she died.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's saddening. Even until now no one is talking bout it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I think nobody know the exactly truth or nobody want to talk about it. Maybe it was just an accident. But if somebody say that it’s not sure it was just an accident you can’t forget it anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago