A Brief Self-Introduction for Anyone Crazy Enough to Stumble upon This

0 32
Avatar for BCAlexander
3 years ago

Greetings, all you readers, writers, and lurkers on this fascinating website! My name is BC Alexander. By the end of this all (not this short intro, dear god, just -- you know -- it all) I hope to have become a staple in your inner world -- a mostly-faceless, always-inspiring guide who can change how you think about the world and how you, in turn, live in this world with whatever time Fate has allotted you.

If you're at this point wondering what the hell all that means, and who is this pretentious a-hole with two letters for a first name, 1) rest assured the same questions have occurred to me on numerous occasions, and 2) allow me to briefly explain.

One of my favorite writers of all time, the late David Foster Wallace (you may notice that my bio includes another one of his quotes), once wrote that "Fiction's about what it is to be a fucking human being." I would like to take his assertion one step further: writing's about what is to be a fucking human being. I have always found, no matter what stage of life I'm in, that nothing can quite affect me the way the musings of a great writer can. We could go into the how's and the why's of this phenomenon for a long time (and perhaps we will, in a future article), but I say all that to say -- I want my writing to have some impact on you. Whether it be to change you, to inspire you, to jolt you out of your trancelike passivity -- or whether it be to scare you, to warn you, to carefully show you the horror of what's lurking beneath the surface of it all -- I want to make you feel something, and more importantly, understand something. Something that you didn't before.

What else to say? On a more practical note, you can expect articles on a wide range of topics in the future: politics, philosophy, writing, self-improvement and -development, sports, exercise, meditation, etc. etc.

So I guess that's it for now. I don't know how useful this "introduction" really was (I joined the site only about an hour ago and wanted to jot down a quick intro article), but I hope you got something out of it -- and if you legitimately read to this point in the article, thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you. The one thing all writers want is attention, and I'm no exception to that.

If you found anything I wrote today even mildly titillating, please do consider subscribing to my profile and donating to this article. More is to come, and any sign of support would be a big boost of motivation towards making that happen.

So until next time, everybody. Peace.

4
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for BCAlexander
3 years ago

Comments