Art That Leaves Dent

2 41
Avatar for Azrael
Written by
3 years ago

            Creativity, in a technical language, is a built-in system planted in our brain for us to use, enhance, and maximize. For us to develop and augment the use of it, we have to practice using it regularly. When we are using our own original ideas in creating beautiful things casually, you will start having a passion for making things aesthetically pleasing in your own eyes.  Since creativity isn’t a thing that humans can modify and add boosters, we have to manually improve this by using it normally in our everyday lives. Do everything with a twist, do not settle for the norms and boring. I do not imply doing artistic works every day like painting, writing, etc. I meant every little thing that may need a design, or you may pull off a creative stunt, do it.

Creativity and Imagination

            These two terms are long ago connected to each other and are deeply rooted in understanding arts. For us to connect and understand art, we must think like the artist. Be imaginative in observing the strokes and meanings and somehow think beyond the figures and shapes. Only then you can decipher and relate to it. Look at it from the eyes of the artist, do not settle for visual appearance, and take the function, meaning, and relevance of the art shown using your own creativity and imagination.

Why is the creation of art a product of creativity and imagination?

            Creativity allows us to do something meaningful with our imaginations Imagination is our way of thinking beyond the limits and the sought-for art that is not present in our senses. Meanwhile, creativity is the act of turning new and imaginative ideas into reality. These two are interrelated in creating meaningful and unique art. Art has its roots planted in our minds, with our own senses and perception of beauty.      

How can you utilize the arts to express yourself, your community, and your relation to others and with the earth?

            Art has different forms but has the same intentions, to express, make a chance, and communicate. In my own opinion and situation, it is using a platform for the benefit of you, your community, and the beliefs you stand for. I would like to put my own example in this matter. In the year 2019, I had the chance to compete in the annual journalism competition called “LIYAB”. It was held in PNU and it has 900+ contestants. The topic given to “Pagsulat ng Lathalain” was the daily life of commuters. It was my call, it was the time for me to maximize the situation and the literary art that I will be made to extend my thoughts and my own perception. Instead of writing down a commuter’s struggle, I struck the part where I am deeply connected and has the biggest impact in making that piece, a winning piece.

            A driver’s dilemma every day is what I chose to elaborate on. My father is a driver and I have seen his struggles daily as he withstands the dangers of roads to earn money for a living. I had to make the piece focused on the community of drivers and myself. It was a sudden change of plans, but it did pay off. I wrote down the heat, danger, patience, and perseverance that a daughter of a driver can only see. I wrote down a different perspective from the people struggling under the classes and yet had the strength to go on with their lives. That moment, I took the biggest risk, but I did not regret any of my choice of words nor topic. The mere fact that I had the chance to speak up for the community that fed me from a large platform that can be read by professional individuals, it was more than satisfying.

            My point is, art is never limited. It has an invisible border and the only thing that can be considered as a hindrance is you. To utilize an Art, you must travel your creativity and break the limits. Overcome and be brave enough to let it communicate for you, your community, and the environment. You must have a clear goal and every piece of it must be made from your emotions. To maximize the purpose of art, you must make it speak for you.

In what category do I enjoy doing?

I consider myself as an artist not because I was labeled with that but because I create art as a passion. I am an artist simply because I create art in limitless forms and advocate. Ø  I belong in the literary and performing arts. I can classify my talents in those categories. Performing arts because I used to led musical stage plays and made myself a member of our campus’ choir. I also love playing stringed instruments for the purpose of leisure. Literary arts because I am fond of words and meanings. Since I was in middle school, writing contests had always been my field of passion. I had a fair share of achievement when it comes to creative writing that’s why I consider myself a literary artist.

Do you know that Art is incorporated with soul-making? Vague? Let me discuss.

 What is soul-making?

If you are going to define it only by having these words, it implies a continuous seeking for a personality inside of you. In my coherence, soul-making is the application of your inner creativity into something you believe defines you and gives you leisure. It is putting a piece of memory, belief, and something valuable that naturally comes out from you. It was like a reflex of connecting to others by the use of your masterpieces. In figurative language, I will address this as one of the magic of art.

What are the types of soul-making?

The categories of soul-making are Crafting Images, Crafting Stories, Crafting Instruments, Crafting Movements, Crafting Techniques.

Crafting Images is an activity wherein a person creates a literal image into reality. It does not necessarily a visual art like painting, drawing, etc. Likewise, writing poetry, novels, and telling stories orally are some forms of literature that give life to the image you’ve created. It is somehow considered an outlet of emotions and a soul-searching instrument. For example, a dark theme sketched by an artist might be a product of her frustration or just wanted to share a bit of the darker side of her world.

Crafting Stories is the medium of some people in interpreting their inner selves with the use of words, rhymes, and letters. It might be a form of argumentative or position paper which states your stand. In my own interpretation, I will give editorial essays as an example of this.

Crafting Instruments is one of the categories that are hard to decipher. The instrument’s magic is amusing. The sound of plucking strings pull of bow or even piano keys pressed can bring so much emotion that we are unable to interpret. Music has its own way of bringing the deepest emotions we have hid for a long time. Transforming any found or used object into a musical instrument allows one to discover harmony and balance to produce a sound that is entertaining, enhancing, and magical. An example is the feelings Chopin’s Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2 never fail to deliver every night especially when I myself had the chance to play it.

Crafting Movements has a much broader sense. According to our discussion, every aspect of our life is a performance. In my own interpretation and application of arts, it is the form of soul searching wherein you’ll use gestures to interpret the anger, happiness, sadness, or whatever that’s been lingering inside of you. An example is Theatre plays, specifically, musicals. It is amusing how much emotion you can let out by singing and dancing to a song so dramatic.

Crafting Techniques is tilted to a more technical side wherein practical attributes and resourcefulness may intervene. This is the use of evocative descriptions of experiences and explorations. This encourages us to seek outside of norms. For example, is stationary.

An Artist That Proved The Power Of An Art

Leonardo Da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci was an Italian polymath of the High Renaissance, generally regarded as one of the greatest painters of all time. He is popular for his classic and full of paradox art ‘Monalisa’. The Last Supper is the most replicated religious painting of all time, and the drawing of the Vitruvian Man is often used as a cultural symbol.

 He is also known for his notebooks, in which he created sketches and notes on science and innovation, covering a range of topics, including anatomy, cartography, painting, and paleontology. Leonardo's collaborative works make a contribution to later generations of artists rivaled only by that of his contemporary Michelangelo.

How does he able to derived his seven principles in arts?

As far as I have researched, ‘How to think like Leonardo Da Vinci’ is not written by him but a researcher Michael Gelb. For me, Michael saw these principles on Leonardo based on what he’s been showing all throughout his life. Leonardo was known for his controversial arts wherein it implies his fearlessness, boldness, and eagerness for more of what his world can offer. In this case, Gelb saw words to describe him and be able to share them with the community. His principles were reborn and will continue to mold each aspirant.  

How do you apply each of the seven principles in your growth?

As I am tracing down each principle’s significance, I can infer that these teachings can help me grow in a much-freeing environment and thinking. I can apply these not just in arts but in real life and to my development as a person. Do everything with thrill and seek every angle that can lead you to opportunities for discovery. Live my life in a continuous curiosity and a balanced mind, and keep everything analytical while enjoying the aesthetics of it.

How important is the Da Vinci principle of our society nowadays?

His principle is vital to our society for it is to forge a mind like his. Not to offend anyone, but some arts of today focuses on beauty, in visuals, and slightly disregarding the impact it can create. Artist must know how to seek for truth, controversies, and paradox and be able to place it in an art which can change lives and introduce a new perspective.

3
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @One95Earner
Sponsors of Azrael
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Azrael
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

An interesting article. Thanks for taking time to compose ands share

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago