My experience in a Danfo Bus

0 11
Avatar for Ayomide_090
3 years ago

I was thinking this afternoon then, I remembered an incident that happened some years back and I decided to share it with you guys.

Most people do not realize that the little actions they take everyday, and which they think do not matter much, often have far reaching consequences. 

​I remember the day I was traveling back from Olabisi Onabanjo University after writing my ​post-utme examination in Ogun state​​​​. 

​When I got to the park, I boarded a commercial bus going to Lagos. The bus was overloaded, the road was in a state of disrepair, and the ride was bumpy and uncomfortable.

Everyone kept complaining about the bad road, including the driver, who complained the most - understandably. 'Why can't the government maintain these roads? ' He kept wailing. 

Halfway through the journey, we got to a toll gate. As we drew level with the toll booth, the driver quickly slipped a two hundred naira note - half the correct fare to the toll collector and drove on without collecting the ticket.

Not in the least surprised by what had happened, I said scornfully to the driver, Do you see why your government can't maintain these roads? He flashed me an angry look and said: What is two hundred naira? Can it maintain the roads? 'No it can't, of course, I returned. But multiply that amount by the number of fraudulent drivers like you. Then multiply that figure by the number of days in the year and so on.... 

His lips were just shaping an angry retort when suddenly there was a deafening bang as the door disengaged itself from the vehicle. Everyone was alarmed and was wondering what caused the noise as only those in the back seat saw the door unhinged itself from the vehicle.

Afterwards, the conductor and the driver were able to proffer a solution by fixing the door again. The journey continued... 

After reaching about three quarter of the journey, those of us seating at the back seat started experiencing a certain degree of hotness which was increasing by the moment. 

Personally, I was wondering if it was my imagination because it was a wooden seat or it was my body reacting after traveling such distance.

Immediately, as if on cue, all of us shouted for help simultaneously. The vehicle screeched to a halt as soon as the driver stepped on the brakes. All of us jumped out of the vehicle as soon we could. 

Then, the conductor walked towards the bonnet hoping he could detect what was wrong with the vehicle.

After his diagnosis, he concluded that the radiator was void of water. I looked calmly at him and said "This is poetic justice ". 

Image Source

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ayomide_090
3 years ago

Comments