Stop Body Shaming

0 27
Avatar for Ayna-22
2 years ago

November 23, 2021

Often many people become a victim of body shaming, but seriously this is totally wrong. We have no right to shame others for having a fat, lean, small or tall body. I faced this situation many times in my teenage years when my cousins and friends and other family members said different words to me, because in my teenage I was a fat girl, but it's not a bad thing at all, and I was so happy with my body posture, but other people had objections, but why? I don't know.

I think some people have nothing to do in their life, and they continually judge other people and pass comments. On the other hand nobody is interested in their meaningless comments, but they do and do. This is very hard for a young mind to bear this type of bullying because body shaming is also a type of bullying in which someone accesses anyone on the basis of looks.

So this type of bullying really affects the child's self-confidence, because he/she loses their self-confidence by thinking that they do not fit properly in this society. So when I was in class 5, my friends regularly passed different bad comments on my fat body, and I was so disturbed and my mind was not stuck on study due to overthinking about my body weight. But by the passage of time, my mother noticed me and asked me what happened to you. I was so happy to hear about the beautiful girl. I explained each and every thing in front of my mother. She hugged me immediately and said no daughter, no, you should ignore these types of people as well as their comments, because these types of people are no more than a bad hurdle in your life. So mom explained to me how to ignore these types of people.

I think when we start to accept ourselves and stop hiding ourselves, then we feel so much comfortable and then nobody can pass comment on our body by seeing our higher self-confidence. This is very important to love yourself first because when you love yourself then others give respect to you otherwise no.

Now I have reduced my weight in my 20's, not due to people around me but just to keep fit. I think this is our own choice of where we should stand about everything like in every relationship, talking, and body weight. So now I maintain my body weight just for myself. I was happy with my body and weight and now as well, a beautiful healthy body is a great blessing of God. Lots of people in this whole world are battling with different diseases, so we should always be thankful to God for good health, and not be busy in meaningless discussions about others' looks.

Ending Thoughts
My main purpose for writing this article is just to raise a voice against body shaming. In my childhood I faced many people who disheartened me again and again just due to my being overweight. Now I write this from my personal experience. I want to say one thing to those people who discouraged me a lot in the past. Please don't do this again with any child that you did with me. There are a lot of other positive things to do in this world, go and do something positive. Thank you to so many beautiful people for reading my article. Comment your views in the comment section, because your views are very important to me!

Thank you!

©️Ayna-22

Images source:

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/stop (Lead Image)

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/discouraged-kids

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/discouraged-kids

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ayna-22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayna-22
2 years ago

Comments