The Characteristics that an Athlete must Possess

9 29
Avatar for Athaliah
2 years ago

What's up my dear read.cash buddies! How have you been?

I am running out of patience at this moment because our neighbor was spending the entire day singing in Karaoke like there is no tomorrow. She's been screaming a lot and I can't even concentrate in writing. It seems like she doesn't give a damn at all. I guess no one dares to stop them bothering the neighborhood.

So much for that, I just want to share a glimpse of my journey as an Athlete (specifically Volleyball) way back on high school. Basically, the main thought of this article is to reminisce the things that I have encountered or experienced upon entering the world of sports. And how it impacted me as a person.

Well, I'll cut right to the chase and let the blogging begin!


Being an Athlete you must possess the following characteristics;

  1. Punctuality

Punctuality takes place during training and meetings. We have to wake up at exactly 4 am to gather ourselves and line up because the sports officials as well as the coaches are encouraging everyone to do general exercises such as zumba, jogging, stretching, and many more before proceeding to our respective training grounds. At first it was so hard for me because I am not used to waking up at dawn. Moreover, we also have to follow our schedules and we only have few hours to take a break because time is gold.

  1. Holistically Healthy

As an athlete you must be healthy and achieve wellness in every aspect of your life and that includes the;

Physical aspect

You must have to deal with various body pains, and injuries because there is a huge possibility that you can encounter such accidents during the game depending on what sports you are joining in. In short it is inevitable that is why all athletes must take care of their physicality through proper diet, daily exercise, and wearing safety and protective gears during the game to remain unscathed.

Mental Aspect

Each athlete should be mentally stable because in every game you need to use your mind also and if you are driven with stress and nervousness you cannot be able to perform well.

Emotional Aspect

It is expected that there are a lot of people who will play as an audience fixing their eyes on you while you are playing. Ofcourse, it is quite normal to get nervous and you tend to get upset when you messed up during the game. Best example is when one of my teammates can't get a grip of her emotions and as a result she cried in the middle of the game because she was so worried knowing that she had committed a lot of mistake which made her think that she will going to be substituted by another player.

Social aspect

It is expected that you will meet a lot of players from different schools/institutions. You will also found new friends and bond with them even just for a short time. You must also display some friendliness and openness towards others most especially when you are playing team sports. And ofcourse in every game we only have two destinations it's either to win or lose. What I am trying to day is that even though we lose or not the camaraderie and sportmanship should remain and don't treat other teams as real enemies. It's kinda immature though lol.

Spiritual aspect

God is the source of all talents/skills and strength, that is why it is necessary to offer a sincere prayer before and after the game. For that reason, we should dedicate our Victory to our Almighty Father and remain grateful for Him in spite of losing.

  1. Discipline

This is the main characteristic of an Athlete because they are like soldiers who are destined to fight in a different battles. It is also considered as the essential foundation for any sport because it shapes an athlete's behavior to help them concentrate and obtain the ability to play towards accomplishing their goals without entertaining any distractions. On the otherhand, coaches plays a vital role in instilling their Athlete's discipline.


Closing Thoughts;

Being an athlete is challenging, fulfilling and fun at the same time. Those experiences are one of my treasures in life. And I never regretted joining the league. It help me mold my well-being, and it gave me the opportunity to discover more of my capacity and limits. Thank you God!

Anyways, thanks for dropping by!

Sponsors of Athaliah
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors!
CHeck them out!

Sayonara minna!❣️

Lead image from unsplash.com

9
$ 5.05
$ 4.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 3
Avatar for Athaliah
2 years ago

Comments

I am not sporty but I have friend who's athletic and varsity to their respective schools. Yes, all of the things you mentioned above are a must

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet she is enjoying her role as an athlete 🥰, Thank you so much Klied😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. Punctuality is really important. You must be on time. I relate this Langga since I am a folkdancer in our school. If you are late everyone's got affected during rehearsals.

The other one is discipline. It's the most important as what you said. Anywhere and anytime we should have it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate ganda punctuality and discipline is not only for athletes dapat sa lahat ng bagay meron tayo nyan hehe seneel ate magaling sumayaw🥰🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga that's true. We should practice it. Hehe folkdance Langga.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am I deserved to be called an Athlete? Hehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes uy ikaw pa skills plus attitude!❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't engage on any sports activities in school before that fighting on competition but I play badminton. I know that players need to be consistent in those type characteristics in order for them to survive in the game and also it's very important just to enjoy every game. I bet you've won lots of volleyball competition ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm I am bad at playing badminton though😅😂 lucky for you, I bet if you pursue it you will be a great athlete too. Hehe not at all dude even though we barely win but the experiences we've gathered are enough😁🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago