Dragonary - There will be fire - Honest review.

0 22
Avatar for Assassyn
2 years ago

# WTF is Dragonary?

It is a dragon breeding and fighting game and as all games reviewed by me it is based on blockchain. The games started around 2021 so it is recently young but there is some progress within the game, which did mature quite a lot and any new joiner will not see the early adopter bonus with a game.  But there is a possibility of island sale later this year which can speed up the rain in the ranks. 

I need to add that I have been writing this article for the past 3 weeks and unfortunately the changes in the game made my opinion about it completely different. In the end, I will tell what has changed and why I do not like the changes in the game.

# The Dragons 

There are 7 dragons type with the assigned roles all with two different abilities

* Earth Element: The Tank

* Fire Element: The physical DPS

* Air Element: The main Healer

* Electric Element: The Range DPS

* Plant Element: Jack of all trades

* Water Element: The damage reliever

* Ice Element: The resistant DPS

# The resources

We can start with the most basic type of resource that is the experience of the dragon. A higher-level dragon is able to take more attacks and can attack a little bit stronger. Additionally, on higher levels, it can a=unlock abilities and more attack types. The second important aspect of experience and dragon level is that your dragon needs to be at half of the level to be able to breed, and this is important if you want to reach a higher rarity of your account and shave stronger dragons.

Another very important resource is ember. You need it to breed dragons to reach higher rarity levels, at least until rare dragon as after that you need to merge them together. To be able to receive the common egg you need a common ember, for the uncommon egg, you will need to get the uncommon ember and so on. The only way to get ember is to merge it and to do so you need 5 lower-level items. For example, to get the uncommon ember you will need to merge 5 common embers and every one of them will be created from emerging 5 sparks.

Similar to ember there are items part. Items can be used to boost up dragon stats. I am not sure what to add about them as they have been added quite recently to the game.

The last resource you can gain is the Obsidian. It is used in the alchemy part of the cave to earn you CIT at the end of the day. To get paid you will need to get 1000 of Obsidian which means at least 5 successful missions every day. 

# The mission 

![pve scree.png](1)This is where all earning and action is going to happen if you ever make a decision to start playing this game. There are 3 modes, which differ in resource returned but the game looks the same for all of them.  The "battle" is 3 rounds of 5 vs 5.

The modes are quite boring even you can decide which ability to use on which character. Other than that your dragons attack randomly one of the opponents. I usually speed up the game and turn auto mode as the selection abilities do not always work well.  

# History

We start with History missions, a simple 3 round fight with various enemies with a small boss in the last one. The history missions are providing a large amount of experience, but nothing else. 

Currently, there are 12 missions with an increasing amount of difficulty, with my crew of 5 uncommon dragons I was able to reach level 8 only. This mode is quite useful to get all dragons to breading level quickly.

# Embers

The second of PVE modes, in which you can obtain obsidian and embers. Have I mentioned that the third battle is usually against the enemy drawing of the selected type? After the successful mission, you will receive one spark, 200 obsidian and sometimes item part. 

Currently, the hard mode is disabled but to be honest, I have never managed to finish more than 2 battles on medium and I am using only uncommon dragons.

I have to add that with starting part( that is the 3 weakest uncommon dragons) winning the ember mission on Easy is almost impossible. 

# Dungeon

The newly added mode, where you are battling corrupted dragons.  I could not tell a lot about this mode as it is still locked for me. I think I need to have the NFT, that is at least rare, dragon to be able to play it but it is not possible to do so for me right now. 

I think that the main part of this mode is to get broken items to boost dragons, but again it is my assumption only. 

# The Cave

In here you will be able to breed and equip your dragons so you have more fighting chances on your mission.  

The areas from the top left corner are:

Nest - allows you to select the egg to hatch. The hatching time is dependent on the rarity of the egg and the hatched dragon. 

The altar is the place where you can create new dragons by either breeding them or fusion them. All their operations required at least two dragons, ember and  CYT payment. The rarer dragon is the more you have to pay.  Additionally, the more egg given dragons have created the higher CYT payment will be.  This is a nice mechanics to restrict the large and uncontrolled increase in dragon number.

The important information for any breeder is the dragon stats level.  It is created by summing all 3 stats and all rare dragons have a level below 50. If your dragon's level reaches 90 it would become rare. Please remember that the child dragon has the 20% stats increases compared to his/her parents. 

Barracks allows you to select up to five dragons for your dream team. You can also equip your dragons. To be honest nothing special in here.

# How to earn money.

This part is short and simple. Just do 5 missions a day to be able to take part in daily CYT distribution. The level of distribution is based on the account rarity and anything below the Rare account is a very slow process to grind.

# The troubles 

The first time I played the game I like it. It is not very complex but a nice game. Additionally, after I have read the whitepaper with all ideas on how to keep the economy I was bought. I was not afraid to buy a few hundred CYT to quickly breed my dragon and reach a higher account rarity. At the time the prices were ok, I mean the merge of 5 embers into uncommon ember cost 5 CYT. Breading the uncommon dragon for the first time was a cost of 50 CYt, not a small amount but not prohibited by any means.  Now, a few weeks ago they have raised prices,m it was explained that the CYT prices dropped and they need to guard against it. MY biggest beef is that they raised then ten folds. so now If I want to get a second generation of uncommon dragons I need to have uncommon ember, which cost 200CYT and then pay another 100CYT for the first-generation egg.  And I am still getting only 2 or 3 CYT per day.

What is more, you can see a lot of features added which looks like attempts to grab more money not to extend the game. I mean they added NFT carts, premium account. There are also features that are locked for me, I only assume I need NFT dragon to be able to access them. 

In a current state, I will strongly disadvise anyone from starting the game now.  The game is Pay-to-play not play-to-earn and I have lost all hopes that it will be improved.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Assassyn
2 years ago

Comments