Getting the Substrate straight and DOTting all the Polkadots

0 24
Avatar for Asadkhan1022
3 years ago

At first I was all about Bitcoin, built a lightning network, created a few invoices, opened a few channels.  Then there was this Ethereum thing, and a programming environment named Solidity and then Viper, wrote a few smart contracts that cost a few ETH to make them happen.  Now, the Crypto space has evolved yet again, the token is called DOT and the programming environment is called Substrate.




So fast was this change, that by the time I noticed it I was 3 years out of sync before seeing Dr. Gavin Wood’s talk on it and on October 15th at 03:00AM PST I will be virtually attending the Sub0 Online - The Substrate Developer Community Conference to try and get a fix on this technological terror that has been constructed.




To my credit, I started a little before this, trying to get this on a Raspberry Pi, like I did for MyNode Lightning project, some complications with this as the WASM compilation on a ARM cpu was not the same as WASM compilation on a x86.  There was a fix but I decided to abandon the attempt and try again on a x86 device, an old laptop I resurrected with an Ubuntu install, which worked up to the point of building the UI.




Going to bed early tonight...


Tonight I am going to bed early, to get up at 03:00AM PST to be ready for the Sub0 Online - The Substrate Developer Community Conference, reassess a better strategy for a fully up and operational Substrate environment with a functional UI.  I bought 24 DOT tokens to work with and will be going through as much of the Web3 videos to get up-to-speed with everything Substrate, Polkadot (DOT) and Kusama (KSM) before the conference.




Docker Options?


One strategy is to build out a Docker container with all these technologies built in, since I tried to hand weave, from scratch the quantum code to build this, first on a Raspberry Pi (which failed due to WASM compatibility issues), next on my ASUS i7 x86 laptop which partially failed when building a functional UI.




The 3rd attempt will be on a Docker container, which should work, error free as there will no doubt be a YAML file, preconfigured and on the cloud that will make this operable.  After I get through the conference, I will continue to forge at the crucible of the code, and weave my final magick to build a Blockchain worthy of the Gods…



1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Asadkhan1022
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Asadkhan1022
3 years ago

Comments