What I Want to Build, on EOS

13 65
Avatar for ArtistByron
2 years ago

As briefly and to the point as possible ... I want to help artists.
All artists.

circa 2018

A little bit about me ... I began my online art career around 2009. I didn't know what I was doing and there was very little help. I failed to earn a steady paycheck. There were great moments of pseudo fame thanks to google, and massive amounts of darkness after the fame, also partly thanks to google.Selling ART online is hard and most people fail to make a living doing it.

Fast forward to 6 months ago when I started to really earn a good paycheck selling my art as NFTs on WAX, via AtomicHub.

So what did I do when I started to earn in a really good way? I tried to get my friends interested in selling their art as NFTs. Most of them turned me down.
Too hard, too weird, too strange to understand. A few gave it a try but gave up, while a few others waited and waited and then joined one of the more recent NFT start ups.

My initial time on WAX felt amazing. There was a huge community support towards artists getting into the NFT metaverse. Anyone could mint anything and sell it. If you could hype yourself, you could sell a lot of it. I had a decade + of quality work to pull from and just fed it to the minting machine as fast as I could before I burned out.
I was in the right place at the right time, maybe a little late, but the door was still open so I crammed in hard. Artist paradise . . .

Then the big companies really figured it out and bombarded the market with massive amounts of collectibles and clever marketing gimmicks. All the licensed products from the big name collectible companies started pouring in and soaking up all the wax. The little artist was hit hard but still had a strong community supporting them. The golden era was over, time to get to work.

It's still not easy getting into the NFT scene if you never did crypto before. AtomicHub makes it easy, but they also make it HARD. Scammers also flooded the market and the verification process on AtomicHub became a huge bottleneck with no easy fix. I still don't think they have it solved.

Anyways - on top of hard to onboard new artists, harder still to fully verify them, there is no easy place for that artist to showcase their work, in a way that makes sense to the artist. Everything is still being built to make it easier for the art to sell, and for maximum profit towards the first person to flip it.

Doesn't quite sound right. Sure, the artist is guaranteed a piece of every sale of their work, but it's a low percent. And most people HODL their NFTs, which really doesn't help the 1/1 artists out there.

The system isn't perfect, it never will be, but it could be a lot better than what it currently is, and now is the perfect time to build it on EOS.

I want to build a tool on EOS that will help new and old artists begin enhancing their art careers with the power of EOS NFTs. I have ideas on how to do it, I have people willing to help me do it but what I don't have, yet, are artists willing to do it. To really pull this off we need to develop a way to onboard artists that are serious about using EOS NFTs to finance their artistic journey, and then mentor them.

These are the people that will have the vision to WANT you, the developers, to figure out how to give them what they NEED. We're artists and we create ideas that grow inside others and together we make those ideas come to life.

And if you want the EOS ecosystem to grow, you need to create a reason for people to spend the EOS, and what better way than supporting the artists?

My time on WAX has shown me what can be done with NFTs and I know it can be easily (hahaha) done on the EOS blockchain. I'm not a dev though, so don't quote me. But it can be done. All that and much more.

Thanks for reading my article. Want to stalk me and see more horror art? Here's a long list of my socials and what they are.
Facebook - I seldom use it anymore but it is still a large repository of my work.
Twitter - I am much more active here. By active, I mean I post too much, too often and also too much. So much I had to say it twice.
Telegram - I never used Telegram until I started on NFTs. It's handy place to chill and you can make a bit of DU$T just by chatting with like minded people.
Discord - I am new to Discord, but it is quickly becoming the new home for the Horde. Lots of organizational abilities. Need moare people though.
Other places to find me? Well if you have time, check out where I got my first start in the world of the wide web ... on blogger back in 2009.
The Daily Zombie - it was never daily but it was sometimes. It has a big history of my life, how I started and where I have come from.
One Thousand Zombies Art Project
This was a big one - such a big one that It gets it's own line.

4
$ 2.90
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 1
Sponsors of ArtistByron
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ArtistByron
2 years ago

Comments

I love your article, it is very interesting to read. But why do you want to build on EOS - and not on SmartBCH? I think SmartBCH will be the affordable DeFi for the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

show me where you make the SmartBCH NFTs and I will look at it hard . otherwise, WAX has already shown how easy it is for artists to earn a paycheck, EOS is just like it, only more so in the long run

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your introduction, I am also a painter and I was thinking of entering this path, your explanation was very useful, and your paintings are excellent. I really enjoyed that. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for reading, and commenting. Much appreciated. If you do journey into the NFT world, and run into snags, hit me up for help. It's a great community.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone else was faster than me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By 7 hours 😪 😆 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, yeah, but without leaving a comment. 😬🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh nice, I caught it! Thank you! 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I claimed it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done! Will add more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago