Would you change your past if you had the chance?

1 18
Avatar for Arriety
2 years ago

My past life has been a tough one. Looking back, I experienced several, life-challenging events which made it hard for me to continue life. There are gleeful incidents too, of course, but the negative side was more prevalent. When overthinking strikes, I usually ask random questions to myself regarding the past happenings, but there is one question that hit me the most: “If I were given a chance to change one incident in my past life, what would it be?

I contemplated a lot about this, and admittedly, the question remains unanswerable. One of the reasons why this became the most important question in my life is that I had a lot of things which I regretted doing back then. I realized how stupid and naive I am to make the choices without thinking twice. I made my life miserable because of the countless mistakes I committed. At most times, I sat and wonder what would my life be right now if time will take its U-turn. Would my present life never experience such misery that my past life has brought? Is it possible enough that time would give me another chance to change my mistakes? Would I still be the same if a particular event in my past has been altered? Questions after questions came up into my mind with no concrete answer.

I have tried to look into different perspectives in hopes to find enlightenment. Here are my thoughts.

Christian perspective

If I would look at the situation through a Christian perspective, maybe I wouldn’t be so regretful with what happened in the past because it is a Christian’s belief that God has a purpose for everything in life. I wouldn’t think so much about it since I am optimistic enough that God gave me such problems because it has a purpose and a lesson. My problems would serve as a motivation for me to do better and look ahead instead of dwelling in the past.

Christian Doctrine perspective

Moreover, on a Christian Doctrine perspective, Christians have a strong belief in the Bible. There are numerous Bible verses about God’s will and purpose. One example is in Jeremiah 29:11 stating that God has plans to make us prosper and not to harm us. I would use this, and, also other Bible verses to uplift my being. If I were a devoted Christian, I wouldn’t pray to have a second chance in the past since I would be contented enough with my life because I would believe that God has a purpose for all those mistakes, and a reason why He showered me with all those unwanted incidents.

Partial perspective

If I look at the situation through a partial perspective, I would most likely choose only one particular event in the past to alter it.

Holistic perspective

Lastly, seeing the world through a holistic perspective. I think it is impossible to change only one moment in the past because things are interconnected. One alteration in the events of the past means it would not only affect that incident, but would affect my whole life entirely.

So I thought..

When I evaluated all the aforementioned perspectives, the holistic perspective is the one that enlightened me the most because I think that I found the answer to my question.

If I were given a chance to change one incident in my past life, what would it be? My answer is none. It is impossible to change something in the past without affecting the other incidents. I may have regretted some things in the past, but I wouldn't change anything. I wouldn't be the person I am right now if not for the good and bad things I have done before.

How about you? Would you change your past?

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @YourGirlNana
Avatar for Arriety
2 years ago

Comments

If I were given the chance to change past, I'd say partly yes, partly no. Yes because I wanted to be able to finish my studies first, and maybe get a job so that I could provide for my own little family. And no because I wouldn't be where I am now, if not for the choices I've made in the past. And a big part of those choices is what gave me a chance to be a mother to my first born child. And a wife to my partner who is the most loving, caring and responsible man I could ever ask for.

So my answer would go down to a big NO.

$ 0.00
2 years ago