Halloween Party Becomes Tragedy

0 34
Avatar for Ariesa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hallowen, Story, Life, Lessons, Tragedy, ...

October 31st, 2014 is a historic memory of my life. The fear and joy I felt at that time were intense and I had never felt before. It was my first contract to work on a cruise ship, and I had only worked for 5-months. At that time the cruise ship I worked on held a month-long Halloween cruise. That was my first experience of having a Halloween party because, in my country, Indonesia, it doesn't celebrate it.

At first, I felt the sensation, cool and fun. Everyone dressed and partied with horror, spooky attributes, and so did I. Although there are some people who don't like it, they said it's not a good thing, Satan - the devil is a bad thing, but why do they celebrate it (Those words still ring in my mind to this day).

Photo with my girlfriend Ana Garcia.

Then at the end of October, after the Halloween party ended, at approximately 7 pm the ship will sail to West Palm Beach, Florida. The weather at that time was rain and wind, then in just a few moments, at the beginning of the journey, the ship was carried away by the wind, and then hit the rocks. The shock when it hit was very strong, and I also had a feeling that something bad was happening, so I started to worry and pray. Not long after that, all the electricity went out, and I became more and more sure this ship had hit something until the water had entered the engine area, so the electricity went out. Then I was freaked up, scared and I felt like I was going to die any minute.

The atmosphere became even more panicked when Captain turned on the emergency alarm (7-short 1-long blast). According to the procedure, I immediately ran to my room to get my life jacket then I took my passport and cell phone in plastic wrap and I put them in my pocket. At that time my room was filled with water already. Then I headed back upstairs until finally all the crew and guests gathered at the emergency station to be precise in front of the lifeboats and waited for the next alarm, namely 1-long blast, which means abandon ship.

Photo when I prank/ scare people at the buffet.

That night In my mind, was like I will die and will not meet my child who will be born in just a few more days. At that time my wife was 9-months pregnant, which would be our first child. Therefore, I did not give news at home, what we were going through at that time, because I did not want to make the family, especially my wife panic and interfere with the health of her pregnancy. So I was ready, if I died, let the company or the news tell them all at home.

And fortunately, in a fairly long time, our ship slowly arrived back inland, slowly the ship was assisted and pushed by a tug boat. And arrived on the mainland at around 3 am. And everyone survived, starting from the crew and guests even though there were several crew members who were injured.

A photo of me and my friends/team for the haunted house

After 2 weeks of staying at the Grand Lucayan Hotel in Freeport, Bahamas, I was sent back to my country, and I returned home safely. I didn't expect that I would be able to meet my parents, sister, wife and be able to see the birth of my first child, which previously I was sure I would not be able to see the birth of my first child, due to the unfinished work contract. But behind the disaster, I was given very precious happiness.

It was a terrible experience that will not be forgotten in my life and a lesson in how important it is that we should appreciate and be grateful for every life we ​​live today and not waste any of it.

_________________________________________________

❤️ @Ariesa

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ariesa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Hallowen, Story, Life, Lessons, Tragedy, ...

Comments