A Beginner’s Guide to Profit from Crypto Airdrops and Avoid Scams

5 34
Avatar for Arcanu
Written by
3 years ago

Airdrops and bounties can be a fun and easy gateway to cryptocurrency, without initial investment, and also a way of finding out about new blockchain projects. While many coins/tokens will never worth anything, some airdrop and bounties can be hugely profitable. Just hold onto those tokens and who knows if they can become valuable in the future, or at least worthy enough to sell for a decent amount of BTC or ETH during a bull market. Or even a means for you to invest in penny cryptos that have huge potential, that are likely to skyrocket in the future.

What is an Airdrop and a Bounty?

Both airdrops and bounties, in the cryptocurrency sphere, are a form of marketing that aims to generate buzz, boost engagement, and involves sending free coins or tokens to wallet addresses in order to promote awareness of a new virtual currency.

Small amounts of the new coin are sent to wallets for free or in return for a certain task such as posting about the currency on social media, following a particular member of the blockchain project, or even writing a blog post.

Sometimes if you HODL one type of coin, like BTC or ETH, or any other with a dedicated blockchain, you are automatically eligible to claim other coins or tokens just because you were holding the parent coin on which the (fork) airdrop is being done.

Why Airdrops and Bounties Deliver Free Coins?

As stated before an airdrop and bounty purpose is to create brand awareness, attract new users, new customers, get more people trading it when it lists on an exchange, and finally to create a community.

A legit airdrop and bounty usually don’t seek capital investment in the currency. Its aim is purely promotional. We might say that they are an attempt to stand out from the crowd. And this fast-moving blockchain world can be quite noisy.

The Key Difference between Airdrops and Bounties

The difference between Airdrops and Bounties is that Airdrops ‘fall out of the sky’ and are easier, while in a bounty you complete tasks that require more work, and they are often paid better. Common bounty campaigns require you to create Blog or Video content, translation campaigns, social media campaigns, Bug bounties (for coders), or signature campaign on forums.

Bad Airdrop & Bounty Warning signs

On the opposite, a bad airdrop might be a pump-and-dump scheme where the creator inflates the coin to get quick profit, a scam to get your personal data, or just a project that lacks purpose, a solid foundation, and real-world case use. It is recommended not to put all your Eggs in One Baskett, so used dummy accounts to both tradings, for airdrops, and bounties to prevent having your info hacked. Also, secure your accounts using a 2FA Authenticator.

The secret to success is a mix of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure. There are a few warning signs that might indicate a scheme.

Therefore is essential to dig deeper and try to determine whether:

  • The company or promoter has recently been suspended by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

  • If there’s an increase in coin value simultaneously with the is occurring promotional activity. If so do not buy. If it looks unusual, it likely is.

  • Press releases and promotions may announce events that don’t actually happen. This is false advertising and therefore a warning sign.

  • Always check if the company or promoter has real business operations, if they don’t, that’s bad news.

  • If the company or promoter has a lot of shares without a corresponding increase in assets, avoid them.

  • If they frequently change the companies name, management, or type of business, that’s a bad sign.

Arcanu aka Amber Lee for BREAKING DOWN VALUE

6
$ 0.76
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Arcanu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article I Love Thet..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is good advice. I actually looked at an old wallet where I would collect Airdrop from last year. I had forgotten about it. When I looked it said about 0.75$ value. I think it is not for me. Too time consuming and not much return. I have to say I never really engaged and made big bounties so it might just be me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it can be time-consuming, and sometimes not worth it... but I can say I have some good coins that paid the effort, still giving me a humble but stable source of passive income, but it's not everyone's cup of tea! It all depends on the approach.

Two years ago I decided to invest some time trying to understand how the crypto sphere works and I joined in everything that allowed me to obtain cryptos without an initial investment of fiat money. The vast majority without great return, but I managed to start building my portfolio this way.

Nowadays I continue to obtain cryptos this way, either through airdrops, bounties, faucets, platforms like read.cash, or investing with the ones I already have... and I've got my entire portfolio generating passive income. Is it a valuable portfolio? Not really, but as I have a 10-year goal in mind, and I don't believe in the fiat system, I think that over time this effort (already is) will be rewarded. Meanwhile, I continue to deepen my knowledge, in this fast, unstable, cryptic, and sometimes alien world. There is so much to learn and everything changes by the minute.

I appreciate your feedback, it's good to participate in these types of platforms and know that there is someone who engages!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is a good point of view. I do faucets as well but very few of them and not all the time. So I'm not staying completely away from the little things. But airdrops and bounties are not for me because I think of the social media requirements. I don't want to post all this or to manage multiple accounts.

Im doing the same too. Little by little growing my passive income and portfolio.

And I do like your last paragraph. I feel the same.

Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love faucets, especially the ones I have referrals, ahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago