I Am Not For Sale

3 36

Here is my entry to a contest operated by @avie018. I hope you will enjoy this poetry of mine inspired by the movie "Get Out", a horror film, directed by one of my favorite directors of all time, Jordan Peele.

Check out her contest in this link:

https://read.cash/@avie018/poetry-contest-bae223e6

A little insight about the movie Get Out: It's about a black man named Chris who was silently lured by his girlfriend, Rose, and her family, whose brain is about to be swapped by a man who bought him during a family weekend. Rose's family kidnaps or lures black people to be sold as either a slave or a companion.

Hope you enjoy my poem.

I AM NOT FOR SALE

The sun sets for a reason

A reason that everything has an end

It starts its day to fulfill a mission

A mission to make all messages from God to be sent

I have been locked inside a cell where I lost the key to get out

I have been wandering the city in my mind where my imagination has ran out

My love assumed that I am not for free, to be thrown in a prison to work like a man

My weakness has given him the strength to lure me, the weakness I call trust for someone

My instinct had been telling me to stop this nonsense

I trusted him, but apparently I had been blind by the glasses of love that has lenses

My worry is not to be able to see the sun tomorrow

Since tears and grips are what fills my sorrow

I hope I can get out of this home before everyone

It's the only way to survive after being locked by someone.

14
$ 2.50
$ 2.50 from @avie018
Sponsors of AnonymousMaggie
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Full of emotions ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So beautiful poem. I will read your post in the future. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago