Gratitude

0 8
Avatar for Anon_writer
3 years ago

I woke up December 31st angry, sad and pained.

I was all alone, broke and with nothing to show for the year.

In short I entered 2020 richer than I was leaving it. Outside my window, I could hear people shouting with excitement. Talking about how they were happy to make it into a new year.

"Meh" was all I thought.

I didn't even have two dollars to call my own. I stayed home, connected to my neighbors' WiFi and watched movies on YouTube till I got tired.

It was around 10pm already. I took a bottled water, a pack of chips and my phone and put it all in my backpack and stepped out.

I walked around the street and then to the next street. Kept walking. Checked time, 11:32pm. Great.

I had no loved ones waiting for me at home. No need to head home. It was 11:50pm when I sighted an homeless man.

He was in a really good mood so I headed over to him. He explained that it was about to be a new year. He recounted how many people he knew that lost their lives due to Covid 19 and what not.

At that point I reevaluated myself.

I had a house to live in, a family that was a call away and I was being ungrateful because I was not yet at the place I hoped to be in life.

I went through the ten seconds countdown into the new year with him, we shared the chips and water.

I went home, called my family, called people I thought weren't my friends anymore.

I might not have much, but I have enough to be grateful for.

I shared my story to tell you that if the holidays seemed bad to you, I'm sure you still havwas all alone, broke and with nothing to show for the year.

In short I entered 2020 richer than I was leaving it. Outside my window, I could hear people shouting with excitement. Talking about how they were happy to make it into a new year.

"Meh" was all I thought.

I didn't even have two dollars to call my own. I stayed home, connected to my neighbors' WiFi and watched movies on YouTube till I got tired.

It was around 10pm already. I took a bottled water, a pack of chips and my phone and put it all in my backpack and stepped out.

I walked around the street and then to the next street. Kept walking. Checked time, 11:32pm. Great.

I had no loved ones waiting for me at home. No need to head home. It was 11:50pm when I sighted an homeless man.

He was in a really good mood so I headed over to him. He explained that it was about to be a new year. He recounted how many people he knew that lost their lives due to Covid 19 and what not.

At that point I reevaluated myself.

I had a house to live in, a family that was a call away and I was being ungrateful because I was not yet at the place I hoped to be in life.

I went through the ten seconds countdown into the new year with him, we shared the chips and water.

I went home, called my family, called people I thought weren't my friends anymore.

I might not have much, but I have enough to be grateful for.

I shared my story to tell you that if the holidays seemed bad to you, I'm sure you still have a thing or two to be grateful for.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Anon_writer
3 years ago

Comments