Nelson Mandela: A legend in the fight against racism

2 20
Avatar for Annika
Written by
3 years ago
Sponsors of Annika
empty
empty
empty

One of the happiest statesmen in the world is Nelson Mandela, the undisputed leader of South Africa's anti-apartheid movement. He led the struggle to end racism in South Africa and establish a multi-racial democracy. The colorful life story of forgetting attractive personality, keen sense of humor and extending the hand of friendship towards the enemy made him a living legend. This legend migrated to the country on December 5, 2013 without leaving millions of fans all over the world. He was 95 at the time.

After the end of apartheid, on May 10, 1994, Nelson Mandela was sworn in as the first black president of the new South Africa. Even just a decade ago, this political upheaval in the minority white-ruled South Africa was an unimaginable event. Nelson Mandela played the biggest role in this change. Not only in South Africa, he also played a role in establishing peace in different countries of the world. In 1993, he was awarded the Nobel Peace.

Nelson Mandela

On the day of Mandela's release after 27 years in prison, he addressed fans in front of the jail. At this point he reminded his supporters of what he had said in court during his trial. Mandela said he dreamed of a South Africa where people of all races and ethnicities could live together with equal opportunities. In his words, ‘It’s an ideal that I hope to survive. But if need be, I am ready to die for this ideal. '

It was not easy to build a new Africa, leaving behind the old South Africa. But instead of avenging the bitterness of the past, Nelson Mandela extended a hand of friendship to his former white oppressors. The journey of a new South Africa began.That's all I want to say about me.

Memorable quote

In the international arena, Nelson Mandela was known as an orator. "I fought against white supremacy," he said during a hearing in the 1984 Hivonia conspiracy case. I am fighting against the domination of blacks. I admire ideological democracy and a free society, where all people will coexist peacefully and enjoy equal opportunities. This is an ideological position that needs to be lived through and I hope to achieve that. But it is an ideal that, if need be, I am ready to give my life for it.

Some of his notable remarks include:

  • 'Don't judge me by my success, judge me by my failures and turn around after failures.'

  • 'I am not a saint, but if you consider a saint to be a sinner who continues to strive to be honest, then so am I.

  • 'Hate darkens the mind. Stops the path of strategy. It is not appropriate to hate the leaders.

  • 'If one learns to hate, he can learn to love. Not hatred, but love is born naturally in the human heart.

  • "By taking revenge on the world, you can achieve more than you can by showing forgiveness."

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Annika
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nelson Mandela really a respectable person.. He is a legend..everybody should remember him and keep him in our prayers...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago