Me, Myself and I – Back to 2012

0 28
Avatar for AngryKoala
2 years ago
Topics: Thought, Novel, Blogger, World, Society, ...

It was late morning. Grey clouds covered the sky so the sun couldn’t find its way through. The cloudy weather made my bedroom murky. My apartment is positioned eastward so the windows in my bedroom have to be always covered up with curtains to prevent the flashing sunrays disturb my sleep.

Shortly before brunch, my mother entered the bedroom, approaching the windows without making a single sound. She swiftly removed the curtains aiming to wake me up. However nothing happened. I was still in my slumber sleep. It was gloomy outside so her next decision was to turn on the lights. I hadn’t noticed a thing. She then put the music on gradually turning up the volume.

As far as I remember I dreamt of myself trying to climb a gigantic tree. It was situated on a vast field covered with a perfectly cut lawn filled up with rainbow coloured flowers. A cat was trapped in the tree so I was determinately trying to climb it and rescue the cat. I was falling over and over again. Having taken a deep breath I jumped and finally fetched a thick branch. I suddenly felt a strong fatigue so I had to sit down and take a rest on that branch. Having tilted my head upwards I saw the cat. It started meowing and getting louder and louder. Then unexpectedly it went on singing my mother’s favorite song- My Heart Will Go On. I was dazzled. I instantly opened my eyes, not knowing what had just happened.

I saw my mother and realized it was her struggling to wake me up.

*****************************************

The story started in the car. My friends and I were headed for a Halloween party. After we had parked the car, we had to wait the rest of the group to come. I took a moment for myself and gazed into the sky. There was a full moon gleaming on October 31- at the Halloween. I felt a chill and was cautiously listening around to hear something creepy such as a wolf’s or whatever other creature’s holler.

It was time to go to the party. Everyone had a different costume. I was a vampire. I had a crimson long dress and a black belt wrapped around my waist. My face was pale and my eyes were red. They were rimed with black eyeliner. My lips were also red and covered with blood. I had two huge fangs sticking out of the corners of my mouth. The dress was stained with blood. My friend, on the other hand, was dressed up as an angel. Standing by my side, her white clothing shone in the dark. She had vast feathered wings and a glittering halo around her head.

After a while, I noticed a strange figure in the distance wiggling through the crowd. It was a “priest” who tightly held a cross in one hand and the Bible in the other hand. He stirred towards me making cross like movements. My friend not noticing the guy jerked out of fear. I was unsuccessfully trying to hiss at “the priest” attempting to imitate a bloodcurdling vampire. Instead of me being scary, everyone roared at me being silly.

*****************************************

I was waiting for the guests to come. Meanwhile I opened my online book and read it sprawled in the armchair. The lights were off, making the lap top glare in the dark. I was completely dedicated to the story and thus forgot about time. Suddenly someone intensely knocked on the door. I knew that that couldn’t have been my guests because they would have first rung on the front door. I tiptoed to the door and glanced through the peephole. I saw nothing except the blackness in the hallway. I thought they wanted to tease me by putting hands on the peephole and blocking my view. I reached the switch with my arm to turn on the lights. The power was off. I felt a bit edgy, but I opened the door without asking who was there. A man jumped at me clenching my arms. I somehow managed to pull my hands back raising a fist to attack. But the man grabbed my wrist. He started giggling. I recognized that pitched voice- it was my best friend Milan.

He took off his jacket revealing his big frame and approached to the fireplace. It was made of corals which my cousin had collected during his diving course. Each had a unique shape, colour and texture. Milan put the fire on. The room was finally illuminated. I placed myself on a chair in front of the fireplace to enjoy the heat for a moment. My cat jumped into my lap where it immediately began purring as I stroked its back. In the meantime Milan lit several candles and hung them next to the windows to brighten up the room. However in that very moment the power came back and the guests rang the bell.

1
$ 5.86
$ 5.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of AngryKoala
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AngryKoala
2 years ago
Topics: Thought, Novel, Blogger, World, Society, ...

Comments