I Got Fired in the Middle of Pandemics

3 31
Avatar for AngryKoala
3 years ago

When looking at my photos from the March 2020, I remember the last ''normal'' day in my city – it was the 8th of March and we were in the streets, protesting for Women Rights. We could not even imagine what the world will look will look like in a year from that moment. I believe 2020 was the most unusual, stressful and unpredictable year for all of us.

The statistics of the unemployment rates growing look gloomy. Workers in hospitality, retail and entertainment have been badly hit. These jobs have seen the biggest impact from Covid restrictions.

As an employee in the tourism industry, I experienced a year full of turbulences. There were many ups and downs, but the company survived in the end, with the higher growth than expected. I felt safe again. It was March 2021 and our company made a decision to automatise the processes. Being redundant was a surprise and not a pleasant one.

Day 1: I'd just received the news from my Team Leader. I closed my laptop, started at the white wall of my kitchen, where I used to work from home. I was not ready to say it out-loud.

Day 2: Still not able to talk about it.

Day 3: Told my sister about the news. And, instead of saying ''I am sorry,'' she said ''I am so happy for you!''

At first, I was confused. She was happy I was made redundant? Why? But then, I realised. Eureka!

I was given an opportunity to start over, to commit myself to something I really care about! That was such a relief. I had my eyes opened after two years of feeling secure and cozy under the umbrella of: good salary, great benefits and wonderful colleagues. But, did I care about the cause and company's vision? No. Was that my dream? No.

Day 4: I created new CV and dived into my job search. I has always been my dream to move to Berlin. Why not? This is the perfect time!


Day 35: After a couple of interviews, many emails and even more positions open, here I am, unemployed and happy.

To be continued...

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of AngryKoala
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AngryKoala
3 years ago

Comments

so unemployment has made you a bit happier than when you were working? kind of makes sense cuz there's less stress, really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@Hanzell Thanks! Well, I would rather say I am okay now with someone ''not needing me'' in their company, because I was broken at first. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

broken in what way? but it really is a huge relief to be freed from people looking for you constantly. i don't enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago