Cryptocurrencies – My First Time

0 26
Avatar for AngryKoala
2 years ago

Some time ago, there was a traditional, old-school politician in our Parliament asking ''What are these [cryptocurrencies] and whose money is that?!''

I could join him in his questioning some time ago. Entering the world of cryptocurrencies (especially if you are not tech-savvy as Gen Z) can be challenging. Mining? What? Some coins I can't hold in my hand? Duh. Exhausting!

I still remember the summer school in Slovenia I attended in 2017. My workshop was about the finances and I was a student who wanted to manage my finances better. You know, the things you never learn at school and you really need them in life. To be really honest, I have never been an enthusiast in this topic. Numbers and Excel did not sound like anything I'd invest my time in.

Arjun is a millennial from India who was travelling Europe during his Master Studies in Vienna. He is a typical nerd, but the fun one. Just a lovely guy with big glasses and thick accent. He was the first one to mention this wonderful word: ''Bitcoin!''

I remember being puzzled and wondering how come there is a virtual money now (?!) However, after I heard the word for the first time, it just kept appearing all around me.

Speaking very honestly, it was not so simple at the beginning to grasp the methods, technologies and purpose of this ''new money.'' Moreover, it was all confusing and very complex. Therefore, my interest in the topic grew even more.

How wonderful is it that we have no idea what the future will bring. Can cryptocurrencies completely replace our old-school money? Are our grandchildren going to see banknotes and real coins only in museums as some old artefacts? Am I going to tell them: ''Back in my days, when we were all using real money...''?

Let's see! I am so excited to see the changes that take place every day and every MINUTE! Long live the Cryptocurrencies!

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of AngryKoala
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AngryKoala
2 years ago

Comments