Are Our Parents Always Right?

7 41
Avatar for AngryKoala
3 years ago

Growing up as an only child can sound nice. However, only single children know how is it really like to be in the spotlight all the time.

I grew up with my mother and father. Their marriage is not like any other marriage. Their marriage is perfect. Love. Unity. Communication. But, how did I feel in that family? As an intruder. It is really hard to explain and not so often heard, but being the only child meant they are 2 and I am alone. They've always referred to themselves as ''we'' and made the decisions together, actively listening to each other. Sounds like a couple from a Hollywood movie?

However, feeling lonely and alone in a fight against them when our opinions are different is not so cozy and nice. Being in such a situation throughout my entire childhood, I developed a feeling that I am alone in my wishes and dreams, so I often doubted the validity of my goals and emotions.

My parents acted as if they were always right. Their decisions could not be questioned, because they are my parents and parents always know the best, don't they? But, things are usually not so black and white. My parents' values are organised in a way that is sometimes not in accordance with the rest of the modern world. Following in their footsteps, I wanted my life to be perfect as well. Mistakes are prohibited. No risks. Feeling secure is most important. There is no place for spontaneous decisions and trial and error processes. Failing would be the end of the world and the guilty one are only YOU.

I grew up. Entering the adult life, functioning with different friends, colleagues, authorities, experts and partners, I realised my parents' life philosophy may not be the right one. There are as many ways as there are people. Trying, failing, learning from your error, everything is allowed. And no, you are not guilty if you risked and the things are not perfect in the end. You learned and gained experience. And, who knows what tomorrow will bring?

4
$ 0.28
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
$ 0.01 from @Kaya
Sponsors of AngryKoala
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for AngryKoala
3 years ago

Comments

my parents are separated and we teach them the ways now. the time they're mostly right is when we're still reliant on them. when that time passes then we choose for ourselves if they were right or not

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true! I am sure we can teach other a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes like now, we've been teaching mom how to use and hold crypto OwO it's really cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, especially now that kids know much more about technology than their parents! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello dear! My answer is No.Parents are not always right.I am mom too,and I try to make best decisions for my kids,but sometimes kids are not satisfaid with my decision,and maybe they are right.When kids are older than this,who have right or not,is more under question.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey @Kaya, thank you for your insight! I absolutely agree with you. Parenthood can be challenging, but we all learn in the meantime :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

parents are not always right, and they should respect our own perspectives

$ 0.00
3 years ago