Toxicity

1 34
Avatar for AngeliMimo
2 years ago
Topics: Toxicity

Today, most teenagers are obsessed over getting into relationships, when I was younger it was a crime to even bring up such topics but now, you will see young kids of twelve and thirteen already talking about relationships. Times are changing I guess.

Well, Why do relationships have to be so complicated? You have to deal with a lot of emotions, sometimes you are happy, other times you are sad, sometimes you just have this positive vibe, other times it's filled with a lot of negativity, anger, disappointment, rejection, and other things attached to it

Why can't it just be filled with happiness all the time? Why should there always be heartaches? Does love have to be pain?

I was with my friend earlier today and she was crying, I tried to comfort her but by the time she told me her story I was even upset myself and soon I got emotional and was on the verge of shedding tears since I could relate to her situation.

HER POV:

In my last relationship, I was so vulnerable to my partner. All his likes became my likes and his dislikes became mine. Whatever vibe he gave me defined my every mood, If he made me sad I'd be sad the whole day, and even when he made me angry I end up taking out my anger on anyone who crosses my path. I didn't like the fact that one person could control my mood but I couldn't help it and it got so bad that I started losing my friends one after the other.

He would even introduce me to his "side girlfriends" and yet crazy as I was, I would accept it and just roll with it. I was madly in love with him and don't want to lose him besides I'm not the type of girl who would go all out to assault another girl over a guy.

My friends advised me to break up with him but no matter how hard I tried, I would always find myself going back to him

I felt like his pawn, he could make me do anything for him and I would do it. He always knew what to say and when to say it, manipulation at its best, and I wouldn't even notice it.

Finally, I had had enough and decided to put an end to it, it wasn't easy but I did it anyway. For the first time I was able to say no, I felt empowered, like a new being. But even after backing off, it took a while but I was able to get myself back together again. And I sure am really glad I did that

I never wish to be in that kind of relationship anymore or even wish that upon anyone either.

Many ladies are still in toxic relationships, there seems to be something attractive about it. Like a veil covering their eyes because they fail to see what is right in front of them. Even when called on this, they take offense, and soon friends become enemies.

Toxicity spreads like an addiction, the longer you remain in one the difficult it would be to get out of it, and soon before you realize it, it's too late and you are trapped in a cage with no means of escaping. You spend most nights crying and sometimes it leads to suicide.

My advice to every woman out there (and men), if you find yourself in such situations, and you notice some of these red flags, run, run as fast as you can to avoid stories that touch.

This is my first entry on read.cash. I have been here for a while reading and commenting on people's articles. I have seen a lot of amazing write-ups here and I hope to improve on mine as well.

3
$ 0.08
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.03 from @Crownofbeauty
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Avatar for AngeliMimo
2 years ago
Topics: Toxicity

Comments

Hmm, I am happy she was able to take her courage and left the relationship. I see no reason why most youth still find themselves in relationship that aren't worth staying in.

$ 0.01
2 years ago