Private Business Dinner Experience

1 24
Avatar for Andrea1511
1 year ago

Good evening.

In this article I want to tell you about my dinner experience.

Since I have been working for my current employer, me and my co-workers could join business dinners at fancy restaurants here in Guernsey. These dinners are organized when the London co-workers come to visit our office here in Guernsey.

When this happens we use to book a table for 10 at Red, one of the best Guernsey restaurants.

Yesterday I was invited as well and 9 of us enjoyed a free dinner at Red's private table. We went there at 19:00 and finished around 23:00.

We started with drinks, I have ordered a simple beer, but my co-workers ordered cocktails, such as the bootylicious. One of us advised the wine and we ended up ordering 2 bottles of red and 2 bottles of white.

One of us arrived late because he could not find the restaurant and as soon as he arrived we got one amuse bouche from the chef.

Amuse bouche of Salami with butter bread and a tomato sauce.

Red is a steakhouse and we could choose day specialties from their blackboard.

Me and C decided to share a 800 grams cote de boeuf (they have a French chef that used to work in a starred restaurant).

The private room was in the basement and we were surrounded by bottles of wine from all over the world.

This is not the first time I join these business dinners but the first time I have been into the private table.

While waiting for the main plate we got 2 platters with mixed appetisers

Each platter contained:

Tempura, pork belly, salami, a steak skewer And a mini ball that taste like arancini.

One of us also ordered Charleston chicken as that is one of his favourite plates here.

Before coming to this dinner I prepared carbonara for @flapiz , as I could not invite her, so I thought it would be nice to prepare her dinner. While we were waiting for steak, I was still messaging her then she got a bit busy and silent.

The dinner continued with jokes from USA, Japanese culture information exchanges, mates telling about their ex-wives and bad experiences in Naples, Italy.

I remember one joke: we were talking about durian bad smell and one of us said that, "durian smell bad, but taste amazing.. so it is like 69 position".

Here a picture of my steak (medium rare)

Cote de boeuf, medium rare with mushroom sauces

At this point i was a bit tipsy and stopped taking pictures, but we had a lot of side dishes: mac and cheese with truffle oil, with bacon, peas, chips, onion rings, spinach.

It was really hard to finish all this food, but we did a good job.

My USA co-worker told us about his very religious science education. Our London guest and one of us also both have a Japanese wife and they told us about Japanese working culture and how do they tend to interact with foreigners. C spent 12 years in Japan and then moved back to Guernsey, while J always lived in London, but his wife is from Japan.

We had more wine, some of us ordered ice wine, but I wanted to have dessert, so I got a creme brulee with chocolate instead.

Dessert: creme brulee

J wanted to try one of the typical Guernsey cocktail ( crack baby ) this is usually a shot so he tried to ask for a long crack baby drink. The waiter came back with a huge crack baby and he called it : "crack daddy" it was really huge. Usually a crack baby contains vodka, champagne, passion fruit. This crack daddy was a cocktail size. We had one last drink then we asked for the bill. Our London guest paid, but the company will refund him.

At this point I went back home, @flapiz was waiting for me, but unfortunately she was in a bad mood, luckily I was able to comfort her. :)

That's all. Ciao for now.

5
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @flapiz
Avatar for Andrea1511
1 year ago

Comments

I was a little jealous of the fancy dinner but it was more so because I was not eating together with you. But I am happy to read about it on here ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago