Why I almost committed sucide

1 18
Avatar for Ami
Written by
3 years ago

My name is Amarachi popularly called Ami and I am the only daughter. It all started when I was 10 year of age and had to go live with an anuty due to the fact that my parents could not afford my school fees. So I had to go to my anuty in the city to become her housemaid and in turn she would send me to school.

To cut the story short she actually sent me to school but a public school and knowing how public schools are in Africa it is a disaster. I stayed with her until I turn 14 and her husband started abusing me and taking advantage of me.

That faithful afternoon I came back from school and he was home. I greeted him and quickly went in to change into my house cloth as we normally call it and start my chores for the evening. He called me to his room and started saying things I don't understand and was calling my parents names for not affording to send me to school. Then he start touching me saying that my breasts are now getting big that hope no one is touching me and all that. I was scared and I begged to leave but he grabbed me and said let's do; I was like no uncle please I don't want to do anything and he was like you will like it. I cried and pleaded with him to no avail. He covered my mouth and raped me. I bled for hours and was in pain. I was hoping my aunty would come home so she could see what has happened but then he said that she travelled for a work trip and that if I tell her he will give me rat poison to kill me.

My aunty came back after 3day but I was scared to tell her so few months later same thing happened most time while she was away. So I decided to tell her if I die I die hoping she would believe me.when I told her what happened she said it's a lie and that I was the one seducing her husband.

She then asked me to leave her house with no money to go back to the village or a place to stay. I roamed the street of Kano the northern part of Nigeria for 3days with no food and shelter. So I decided to kill myself and stop the pain I was feeling inside of me..so I beg for money I finally go 300 naira which I used to buy snipper a mosquito insecticide is very strong. I took it and I wait my death.

Few days I woke up in the hospital, a good Samaritan has rushed me to the hospital on time and I was treated and she took me home and I narrated my story to her. We both cried because she was a victim of same circumstances but now she is a lawyer and she not married because she lost her womb after series of forced abortion, so she decided not to get married.

To cut my story short the man and his wife where arrested and tried and where found guilty of rape and child abuse and where sentenced to prison.

I bless God for life and now I am 25 of age and my past is behind me by grace and power from Christ Jesus and that is why I can share this with you. My advice to African parents is that if you must send your child to stay with anyone please always check on your child every 6 months and ask the people around there to know if for sure your child is happy.

Thank you for reading my story and please support our foundation by upvoting this article...no penny is too small and God bless you.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Pep
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ami
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

So touching..it is well my dear

$ 0.00
User's avatar Pep
3 years ago