Two hours For Mama

0 18
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago

I was still standing next to the ice cream vendor around the park. Waiting for my ice cream order. I was silently watching the situation around. The children played in the park with his mother. I do not remember when was the last time I did the same thing as them. These fingers will not be enough to count them. I walked a little farther away from the ice cream vendor after my order arrived, sitting on a garden bench with carvings on the back section. I realized the color of this bench is fading, since long ago when I first occupied this bench.

Time keeps running. My ice cream is gone. I'm still here, raised my left hand. I've been sitting on this bench for an hour. The bench that never protested even though I sat on it many times just to wait for things that were uncertain. Mama. Every day I sit here just to wait for mama.

At that time, I was still wearing a red and white uniform, complete with a tie, hat, shoes, and a carrying bag on my back. Everything still looks normal. But that day, was the beginning of all the terrible events that ended up haunting me until this moment.

I left the school gate. Mama's not here yet. I walked to the park, a place where I used to wait for Mom while buying snacks when Mom hadn't arrived. I pulled money from my pocket to buy a snack Mama hasn't come yet until my snack runs out. I sat on the same bench as today. Until someone called me from behind. I thought it was mama. But when I turned ...
"Aunt Rosma?". Aunt Rosma is my father's assistant in the office. She once came to the house. I'm surprised. Why did Aunt Rosma come?
"Your Mom, have important business. That's why she told aunt to pick you up. So let go home!". At first, I had doubts. But in the end, I followed aunt Rosma's invitation.

Since then, I feel like everything has changed. Mama never came home. Every time I ask papa, papa's answer is always the same as aunt Rosma said. Papa said, someday Mom will definitely come home. I tried to believe. But, my trust was lost, when I watched my father tie a sacred promise with Aunt Rosma through a marriage. I am still small, not even ten years old. But since then, I know, mama will never come back to this house again.

My family is not like the family of my other friends. My family is more 'special'. I'm never close to papa again. Papa is always busy, rarely at home. Even with Aunt Rosma. I never wanted to call Aunt Rosma 'mama', because mama will never be replaced by anyone.

I've always been waiting for Mom to come here, in this park, on this bench. From then until now. With one hope, mama will come to pick me up. But still nothing. Mama never came.

I raised my left hand again. It's been almost two hours. I only have two hours to wait for Mom, before I have to go to college and work to maintain a cake shop. I took my bag and walked away. My cellphone rang. A friend messaged me. I crossing the street and replied to the message. Without realizing it, a car horn sounded so loud at me. After that everything became dark, without light.

I opened my eyes, surveyed the surroundings. It's at the hospital. I felt a little dizzy, then held my head which turned out to be wrapped in bandages. There is no one here, except for me lying on the bed. From the windowpane, I can see a woman talking to a male doctor. Who is she? Is she the one who caused me to be in this hospital ?.

Soon the doctor left, and the woman began to come into my room. I paid close attention. She closed the door, then walked over and looked at me. I was silent, my eyes filled with tears. I know that woman very well. The woman I longed for her presence. Mama. My tears can no longer be contained. After all this time I was waiting for Mom to pick me up, now Mama is here, in front of me.

"Mama? I miss mama. ".
"Mama?" I asked back. Don't you know if I'm her daughter? Don't you recognize me? I'm afraid Mom will forget me.

Mom smiled suddenly.
"Hello, my girls. Of course, I also miss you, Alisha, you are mama's most beautiful child. " and mama hugged me. I smile. Apparently, Papa had sent my photo to mom when I had my birthday a few years ago. After more than ten years of waiting, my mom finally picked me up. I am very happy.

End

2
$ 2.35
$ 2.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago

Comments