The Dreamers Squad

1 32
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Every life event will be stored systematically in the memory of the brain and small things can trigger those memories. Memories are pleasant, small pieces from the past. Sometimes he leaves behind strange and beautiful mosaics. Fragments without messages only make an impression.

Memories are also like chocolate, once you bite and eat it you will not stop eating it. He will take you to sail to the ocean full of secrets. Give you lots of surprises, especially about love. Save what should be stored and throw away what you don't want to remember, but don't lose any meaningful memories.

Bengkulu, 5 years ago

BADS stands for the initials of the names of the four most famous boys in school. The squad is renowned for its individual achievements. Students who hold general championships and students who excel in their non-academics. Who doesn't know Dian, Suryadi, Bayu, and myself? All students at school know and know us. Maybe it's a bit excessive to have to explain it, but because it's an important memory so I'll tell you.

B is for Bayu who is the youngest and most handsome. A special man in our squad. He is Arjuna, a man with charisma and seduction. Medium physique, white, narrow eyes, and elegant style. Someone who is also humble and has a great sense of humor. All the girls in our school always care about him, he is good at making girls fall in love with him.

A for myself. People say I'm keeping the image, ignorant, others say I'm friendly. I don't know, there are too many commentators in my life. Nothing special about me, except the systematic and perfectionist personality I carry from my family genes. I don't want to say I'm handsome, because actually other people judge how I am but on average say, I'm not bad.

D is for the genius Dian. The brightest human in our squad. Someone who is multitalented. He is the star and leader of the group. Physically he is short like me, different from Bayu or Suryadi who are taller. The color of his skin is olive-like mine, only the difference is that my nose is sharp and he is arrogant. In terms of good looks, we have the same value.

S is for the poetic Suryadi. The steps are like verse, rhythmic. He's the only member of our squad that's vintage. You won't see him stuck in various ways. She is very diligent and persistent in her desires. The distinctive feature on his face is that he has a mole under his right nose and that makes him look cute.

We are madness. Own a futuristic plan of every adventure. One day we went up the hill of Kaba spontaneously, without any preparation, only the bodies we carried. For the sake of happiness and self-satisfaction, the four of us can become free and full of desire for human beings. We do a lot of silly things. Doing new things to gain experience. We are ordinary men, but not standard men. We are the complexity of a sophisticated friendship.

Four ordinary men with extraordinary dreams. We do not want to dream in moderation. Our dreams are as wide as the horizon, great and high. We also don't want to be fooled by dreams, without a strong will and ability. We are sure that God will embrace every holy wish of man. Our only desire is to travel around the world like Marcopolo or Ibn Battuta. We always fantasize about it. Sometimes writing down the dream on a bottle and then throwing it into the sea, or writing it on the beach while watching the waves erase it. The long beach is truly a witness to our dreams. I hope he will also be a witness to our success because that's where we will gather in a successful condition later.

Time goes on, dragging hopes and dreams. The dream that was once pledged is now at its end, which is the announcement of the SMA. We walked around holding white envelopes. We felt chaotic when we wanted to open the graduation envelope. Everything becomes a mystery. Many possibilities could happen. It turns out, to see the results of your hard work during the exam is so heartbreaking. By counting, we opened the envelope containing the grades and graduations. The results were clear, we passed. The genius Dian got a perfect score, Suryadi was close to perfect. Bayu and I were a little below them. We smiled at each other and gave deep gratitude.

We didn't do the ritual of graduating clothes with markers or spray paint at that time. We know how to celebrate in fantastic, useful and useful things. We do fundraising, collect clothes suitable for use for the orphanage children. After the event at the orphanage, in the afternoon we gathered at the long beach. Discuss many things and plan for the future.

"We all have to take the scholarship test, according to our wish to study in Europe," said Dian, during our silence.

"Yes, true. We have to graduate and study in Europe together, ”Suryadi added.

"Well, agree bro," said Bayu.

"Okay," I answered simply.

A few weeks after the scholarship test. We looked at the test results online and we all passed. Our dreams were warm, God heard our prayers. I was moved, grateful deeply. But things got out of hand. Bayu and I could not take the scholarship. Suddenly the father's death changed the plans for study. I have to be the backbone of the family and work hard to support my younger siblings in school. Similar to Bayu, his father's unhealthy condition made him have to replace his father to take care of his family business.

Parting does leave sadness but I'm sure because someone else will be strong later. Now only Dian and Suryadi are continuing their studies at the University of Oxford, England. Bayu and I looked for other fortunes. Maybe we will go to college, but only in Indonesia.

Dian and Suryadi's first steps to travel the world have been grasped by their studies. At least they already have the keys to exploring Europe. Bayu and I collected other mosaics of life, hoping that God is still kind enough to make way for our dreams. Our minds are always optimistic because I know that we are what we think.

After the father's departure, I went to Yogyakarta looking for a fortune in life. Helping Andre Kualan's cousin, managing his knick-knack business. Andre has been in the business for 10 years and he has succeeded in becoming a well-known young entrepreneur in Yogyakarta. I studied with Kak Andre hoping to gain knowledge and experience. After five years of studying, I can now be independent and run my own business. Alhamdulillah, sustenance continued to flow and I was able to pay for my younger siblings to go to school.

Like the wind, the wind quickly developed. He managed to rebuild his family business. The drink that we often drink Oke Water is an example of the company's products. Now, nothing else can stop us from traveling the world.

Yogyakarta, January 2015

Dusk in Yogyakarta reminds me of twilight at the Panjang beach in Bengkulu. Where the BADS squad often gather to enjoy the beautiful sunset and sunsets, while talking about anything freely without limits. A warm friendship, which we share joy and sorrow.

It's been 5 years since graduating high school. I enjoy being the owner of a handicraft business in Yogyakarta. The ups and downs of pioneering, studying with many people to doing it myself so that I can afford to pay for my family and school life for my siblings. The dreams that used to be delayed are now starting to pull me back. Bayu is now a beverage entrepreneur. He also delayed his dream of wanting to study in Europe, because our conditions were the same. I know that one day Bayu and I will follow Dian and Suryadi. It didn't take long, I started to smell Europe so warm.

"I'm always waiting for you brother," said Bayu. He's always been like that. What a friend.

The circumstances that caused us to postpone our studies did not mean to extinguish the hot embers of dreams on our chest. In fact, the spirit is getting burning and burning day after day. Now, Bayu and I are business partners. We open travel and guide business for tourists in Yogyakarta. Even though our dream of going to Europe has not been fulfilled, we are happy with our current achievement, which is to become young entrepreneurs. The dream that used to be closed now we have to break down the door again. No more cost problems. I've been able to pay for studying in Europe with the knick-knack business that I started.

Surya is drowning with every memory, the color of the oranges is so charming it makes me dissolve in every shadow. I saw my cellphone, there was an incoming WhatsApp message. BADS group on WhatsApp. It seems that the two crazy thugs, Dian and Suryadi, are going home. We promised to meet in a month, and the long beach would witness the return of BADS. I already texted Bayu and we will be crazy again.

Bengkulu, February 2015

"Yeah ... We get together again brother"

Like a separate composition of matter, now the matter is coming back together again. We repeat the moment. Tell me about BADS again. About dreams and about the future. Dian, and Suryadi have now successfully obtained their bachelor's degrees at the University of Oxford, England. while Bayu and I are busy in our business.

"Congratulations brother," I said to Dian and Suryadi.

"We are proud of you," added Bayu.

"Thanks, brother" Dian and Suryadi's smiles that radiated brought happiness. For a long time, we talked about miss The long beach dusk brings an atmosphere of warmth. Just like five years ago when I was in high school.

"Bro, this time we're going to Europe four, right?" Dian and Suryadi's questions reinforced my dream. Explore Paris the way I want. Went to England to watch a Premier League match. Go to Germany and Spain. Ah, I think that dream is very close. Bayu's smile emanated teasing me. I know what's on his mind. This time the four of us will travel the world to make our dreams come true.

Paris, August 2015

Like the feeling of love, that feeling of happiness cannot be expressed in words alone. If you haven't felt in love, then don't say that love is A or B. Because it will look like a bluff if you're not the expert.

The dream of traveling the world is not impossible. God hears and manifests the hopes of his creatures who want to be strong to move forward. Since graduation, I have done a lot of efforts to make myself independent. All that I did for one purpose, namely around the world. Pray, try, God will definitely make away.

Whatever the scenario, the BADS squad could be in Paris at the La Tomatina Festival, Magical! Dian and Suryadi, who were supposed to be in England taking their master's degree, suddenly came to the festival. Unfortunately, he was surrounded by two Parisian girls as well. Ahhh punk!

I was clear why I was in Paris. Since getting a scholarship last April from the Erasmus Mundus Action 2 Project, which is a collaboration (consortium) between universities in Europe and universities in third world countries, one of which is Indonesia. I am currently studying at De Girona University, Paris.

Now we are in Brunol, east of Paris. Where the La Tomatina Festival takes place. Didn't think we could meet and gather again like this. Like a dream, as if it had been planned. A unique coincidence, where Dian and Suryadi were on a comparative study in Paris and they did not miss this La Tomatina Festival. Bayu, by a strange coincidence. He was invited by his business partner to vacation in Paris. Then suddenly like fate we met his miracle, boom. BADS squad in Paris at the La Tomatina Festival.

Like the sauce, the streets were red with crushed tomatoes. Wet body and the smell of tomatoes so pamper the nose. For approximately two hours the festival lasts, then we hurry to clean ourselves for the next adventure. I don't know what else?

Even though we can't go around the world yet. But studying in Europe is our lofty goal. I didn't expect our chatter when we were in junior high and high school about our dream of studying in Europe to come true. We hold on to God's promise, that "God will not change the fate of a people/individual, if the people/individuals themselves do not want to change it" in our souls, we really believe that. That's a source of strength why we are always optimistic.

Our adventure continues to the Louvre Museum, it was once a French royal palace. The Louvre Museum is one of the largest museums in the world and is certainly the most popular in Paris. We mingled among hundreds of other tourists, enjoying the exotic Paris atmosphere. One or two we found Indonesians and we took fun pictures. Paris left its own impression as well as the starting place where I will fight my way through my dreams.

Paris, May 2017

BADS is a valuable memory fragment. At the time of this writing, I was at Cafe De Flore, the oldest cafe in Paris. The classic atmosphere reminds me of BADS. For those who are now in their own habitat. Suryadi the poet, your poetry plays the role of elegant life. The genius Dian made it easy for us in many ways because of your intelligence. Bayu, Arjuna, the group that always makes us get acquainted with women, and I wrote this note so that the memories will last.

I'm happy to have friends like them who always help me get up when I'm down and wake up my soul when I'm weak. That is the beauty of friendship. BADS! that's our name and we are usually called.

A small piece of chocolate I ate from the brownie I just ordered, reminded me back to the good old days, about the friendship of four human children with different characters. Thank you to all of you, Suryadi who is making his third compilation of poetry books. Dian, who is currently in love with Kihara, her Japanese girlfriend, when she attended an English competition in Kyoto Japan. Lastly for Bayu, a wonderful friend, and work partner. I envy your good looks and I love your solidarity. You are all the best, you are my brothers, thank you. We are BADS, doing our best wherever we are.

2
$ 0.36
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Comments

excellent article , your article is very well.keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago