Stay Awake

0 25
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

The pain returned, taking away the remaining speck of happiness. The clear granules that had just crystallized were now starting to break down again, wetting the ground that had been stepped on, evaporating, joining the air that felt stuffy. His chest is tight. Crying did not make his heart feel relieved. The world seems to die along with the departure of those closest to it.

"Yes, it's time for us to go home, kid." a middle-aged man touched his shoulder, Yara didn't flinch.
"Let him go, make the steps light. Like you gave up Mama and Ren. "
Yara exhaled heavily and then left.
"Om will always be there for you. You know where to find Om, right? "
Yara nodded weakly.

For the third time Yara felt lost in the darkness. He went through his days heavily. The grief that once covered him is now back to spreading his dark sheets that he could not tear apart.

For even three months she found the man who had pulled her from the pool of sorrow because of the loss. But it turns out that he fell back into sadness, because Jared, the man he loved, went to the Almighty in a tragic accident. Yara's Lexus that he was driving suddenly became out of control. The provisional conclusion of the cause of the car accident which was planned to be taken to the garage for monthly maintenance was failed brakes. Yara could not understand why this could happen even though every month she carried out routine maintenance for her mother's vehicle.

"I should be there, not Red," Yara said softly.
"I shouldn't have asked him to go to the garage. I should have believed my sudden uneasiness as soon as he waved his hand at me. " Yara's voice began to wave.
"Everything is not your fault, no one can avoid destiny Yes."
The gray-eyed man put his hands on Yara's.
"It's all my fault Jev, the people who are close to me all left me. Mama, my little brother Ren, and now… ”Yara couldn't continue her sentence.
Jev shook his head.
"It's all powerful will, Yes. We can't escape something like that. "
“They left so fast, is this a curse for me? The price I have to pay for my bad deeds? "
Jev shook his head. "Don't say that, Yes."
“I don't know why Mama suddenly had a heart attack, Ren didn't survive the fire that hit our house and Red… I don't have anyone anymore. My life has no meaning anymore. " Yara stared out of the window, raindrops began to soak the road as the beads fell from her eyes.
"Shh, there is always meaning in every life, after all you still have me Yes, your friend, your best friend. Even though I was late to find you, believe me I will never leave you alone. " Jev said softly to Yara's ear.

Yara looked at the lunch box filled with sandwiches, granny smith apples and a box of low fat milk on her desk. These few days, Jev often visited her, brought her breakfast or invited her to lunch together. Jev's advertising company is across the street, so he can easily visit Yara whenever he wants. And what happened very coincidentally was that Yara's boss was a friend of Jev's class when he was studying his postgraduate education. That's why there is always permission for Jev to knock on the door of Yara's room, who has just been working there for just one month. Previously, Yara had decided to leave all her old life, home and work behind, hoping that all bad things would not come to her again. And it turns out that in this new place he was reunited with his old friend, Jev.

Yara's watch has reached 12:15 a.m., she left. It is time for him to come back to Jev's office to just ask him to have lunch together. It's not fair if Jev always asked her. Yara opened the door which was completely made of glass, the green tea-scented air freshener immediately greeted her nose softly.

"Sorry, you're in an internal meeting, can't be bothered." A young woman who was at the frontdesk said curtly. Yara stared at that face, a face that seemed like he had never seen but somewhere.
Just as Yara turned around, a voice stopped her steps suddenly.
"Yes? What are you doing here? Do you need me? Why are you going again? " Jev approached him with a barrage of questions.
Yara was surprised, did not think Jev would appear suddenly. "Have you finished the meeting?"
Jev frowned. "There is no meeting scheduled today, who would ..." Jev glanced at the table which is now unoccupied.
"Aah, I'm sorry Leyda, he's only been here a few weeks." Jev smiled as he pointed to an empty table not far from where they were standing. "So?" he asked curiously.
"Um, this time I'll treat lunch." Yara smiled.
“Geez. Yeah, you came here just to say that? You can call me, don't bother crossing the road. I'll pick you up later. "
"It's okay, I also want to visit this place." Yara looked at the corner by corner of the room filled with knick-knacks on the walls.
"Then, let's, what are you waiting for?" Jev opens his office door for Yara.

Yara cleared his desk and packed up. The wall clock pointed to 7.30pm. Chased by a deadline, Yara chose to overtime.
"Mbak Yara, sorry someone left this." Adi, the company security guard handed him a piece of paper just before Yara dropped her steps on the last stair.
Yara's forehead frowned. "What is this? Of whom?"
"I don't know, the one who gave the woman, Ma'am, is beautiful." Adi smirks.
"But the back isn't hollow, right? ”Yara teased was greeted by a long short chirp from Adi's mouth.

Yara carefully unfolded the cream colored recycled paper, a series of typed letters lined up neatly there.

Dear Yara,
Would you please stop by my office for a while after your work is finished? I was intrigued by the idea you brought up at lunch about the advertising concept I was working on. But even then if you don't mind.
I purposely wrote this message, because I don't want to bother you who are being chased by a deadline with a ringing phone. I know you are overworking from Teddy.
One more time if you don't mind.
See you later,
Rami Jevee

Yara smiled a little, "Rami Jevee", since when has Jev become so official. Yara folded the paper again.
"Earlier Jev, eh Mr. Rami here?" Yara asked curiously.
"Hmm, yes, a bit late upwards, did you not meet Ms. Yara?"
Yara shook her head.
"It didn't take long to go down with Pak Teddy." continued Adi. Yara nodded, then said goodbye home.

Actually, Yara felt tired, but she still walked towards the building across from her office.
He froze for a moment, hesitating to open the door. Then he took out his cellphone, looking for Jev's name there. A voice from the operator's machine announced that the number being called was not active. She looks for Jev's office number, but before her finger hits the dial, a pale face appears from behind the door startling her.

"Overtime too?" Yara asked silently.
"There are some things I have to finish. Come on, ma'am, I want to say goodbye to everyone I want to say goodbye to. Leyda let Yara walk ahead of her.
Yara glared at the woman named Leyda with millions of question marks on her head, she felt familiar with her face again.

The door to Jev's room opened slightly, Yara knocked softly, there was no reply, then he pushed the door. Not having had the chance to open the door wide, suddenly Yara was startled by a clap in his nose and a moment later he felt very sleepy.

Yara blinked repeatedly, her head dizzy. His body felt heavy to move. His mouth seemed to be locked tight. The dim room greeted him, the incandescent lamp above his head dimly lit. The air around him felt stuffy and dusty. Now he is fully conscious, his body feels heavy because he is tied to a chair, his mouth is tight because a piece of duct tape is stuck there. Yara panicked, he tried to get away, but his efforts were in vain. A loud laughter stopped his efforts.

"With a heavy heart I'm forced to do this to you, dear Yara."
"Actually I don't want things to end like this, because I know that losing the people you love will be more painful than this." A figure who voiced in the dark began to reveal himself then slapped Yara hard. Yara was shocked to death ..
"Heart attack, fire, brake failure, isn't that an interesting tragedy?"
The figure laughed loudly again.
"This time I can't hurt someone close to you because he is different, he means to me not like your family and your irresistible love, what's his name? Red? "
Yara rebelled, trying to open her mouth but it was in vain.
"Your mother has taken away all my mother's happiness, and my happiness of course." Now the figure whispered in Yara's ear.
Yara shook her head in disbelief, who is she who looks scary behind the mask she is wearing?

"I'm sorry Yara dear, I have to do all this." An army knife gleamed under the dim light, Yara felt a deep sense of fear.
"Your face is a threat."
Yara held her breath, now her cheeks felt sore. The tears started to trickle down one by one.
"Hmm, I thought your tears had dried up for a long time, but it turns out ..." The loud laughter returned.
The figure is now back in cover in the dark.

"You know, my mom went away forever with a heart attack."
"Papa betrayed him for your mother. And not until then, My father loves you more than me, his own child. I hate you all. ” He shouted as he tossed the items around him.

Now Yara began to understand everything, between the stinging feelings on her cheeks, Yara tried to untie her hands. He realized that he had to stay calm in the face of everything. Panic would only waste his efforts, life experience had taught him so far.

“You have taken everything I have, and now you will also take someone I started to love. I won't let that happen, you hear? ” Now he appeared from the darkness towards Yara then began to attack him blindly.
Slaps, slaps, punches, even kicks rained down on Yara's body, Yara couldn't do anything. His body began to ache and ache. A hard kick made Yara fell with his chair. The terrifying figure was like a demon, kicking the chair that had been lying with Yara's body. In the pain, Yara felt the strap loosening around her wrist, and she began to carefully try to untie her hands from the knots. Meanwhile, the possessed figure sobbed in the dark and shouted.
"I hate you, Yara."

Yara paid no heed to the pain all over her body, she kept trying to break free from her bonds. Gradually his efforts were successful, with all his strength he stood up, removed the tape on his mouth, then walked limply toward the door.
"Hey, where are you going? What an effort. " The figure ran fast then blocked the door.
Yara could now clearly see the face of the person in front of her, the mask she was wearing, the straps were broken. "Ley ... da?"
"Yes, it's me. Surprised? Ah definitely not, right? You must have seen me at your Mama's pharmacy, right? Online cleaning service? Pizza Delivery? Or maybe the cashier at the garage? " Leyda grinned then grabbed Yara's hair and dragged her back to the center of the room. Yara began to memorize everything in between his efforts to gather the remaining strength. Yes, that face, no doubt he had seen it.

In the midst of the pain that suffered him, came the faces of those he loved. Mama, Ren, and Jared, they smile at him. Yara felt a force pushing her to fight back.
Then with a force that had been partially eroded by the pain, he pushed Leyda with all his might, then ran out of the room. But not long after Leyda was behind him, suddenly Yara felt a sharp pain in his back, Yara knew that something had hit his back. But Yara kept running regardless of the pain. Yara started throwing everything she could find at Leyda who was chasing behind her. A flower vase had apparently hit Leyda and held her back.

Yara saw a bright light rising not far from him. He kept running towards the light coming, the pain that kept attacking his body he ignored. Fresh blood dripped, leaving many red spots on the floor.
"Yara!" A familiar face sticking out in front of him was greeted by the fall of Yara's body to the floor.
"Ley ... da." Yara grabbed Jev's arm. Jev didn't have time to lift Yara's body, Leyda came and tried to attack Yara who was lying on the floor. Jev is shocked, he screams. "Adi, he was the one who came to you?"
Leyda's concentration broke when she saw Adi appear suddenly.
"Yes sir. This woman left the letter for Mbak Yara. "

Feeling that the conditions were unfavorable, Leyda decided to run away. But before that happened, Adi was able to arrest him first. Leyda screamed hysterically while trying to get away from Adi's curvature.
"Rami, you have the heart to treat a woman who loves you like this huh?"
“You are sick Ley! I'm sorry I gave you a job here. " Jev took Yara's body in his arms and walked briskly towards the door.
"Yara who made me this way, he who started it. He was the one who hurt me first. And now he's jealous because I'm close to you. " Leyda shouted.
"Just so you know, all the rooms in this office have CCTV on them." Jev shouted instead.

"Why did you come back to the office?" Yara asked softly between the sound of Jev's heart racing.
“My cell phone and someone's birthday gift were left at work. I just realized it when I was going to sleep. Then I met Adi, he was surprised at my arrival and he told me everything. "
Jev sat Yara's body in the front seat, plugged the wound on Yara's back with his jacket then adjusted his chair as comfortable as possible.

Before turning the ignition, Jev looked at his watch then touched Yara's cheek gently.
"Twelve right, happy birthday, Yes."
Yara said weakly. "You remember the birthday ..." His eyes began to feel heavy to stay open.
"I always remember it, from year to year, even though you are somewhere."
Yara smiled, gasping for breath.
"Stay awake. Yes !. Stay with me, because only you can make my life meaningful… I love you. ”

8
$ 0.41
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments