Am I Really Stupid?

0 23
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Shortstory, Life

I am me. Don't care about others. If other people flocked to choose to go to school, then I wouldn't. I prefer to be a satay seller rather than school. Besides, because the cost of education is expensive, I really have no intention of going to school. I think school is a waste of money and a waste of time. Meanwhile, by selling satay, I can get money.

Now let's think about it. We go to school for 12 years with the ultimate goal of getting a job. And with that work, we will make money. Then why did I have to wait 12 years to get a job and make money? Meanwhile, I already have a job that I like and the income is pretty good. At least enough for my daily life. That's how I used to think.

Now I have three children. The first and third child looks like my wife's beautiful face. Whereas number 2, his good looks are not much different from mine. It is from my job that I support my wife and children.

I don't go to school, but that doesn't mean I can't count, read, and write. I can do these three points but in a standard measure. In the sense of knowing that 1 + 1 = 2. Not counting numbers using formulas like those in maths lessons. From 1 + 1 = 2 I can also count money, once again I emphasize, even though I don't go to school. Obviously. Anyway, even a fool's money can turn into smart.

I am just an ordinary human being who does not escape being negligent, angry, and regretful. And a sense of regret had entered me when I saw the children in school uniforms. Regret why I didn't go to school. Because I know for sure that school is the most beautiful time. And I just realized now when I was in my 40s. But never mind. Time cannot go backward. All I can do now is not to let that happen to my children. My children must not feel what I feel. I am alone. At a minimum, my children must have a high school diploma. Don't be like me who didn't graduate from elementary school.

Now my first child has graduated from high school. I asked to continue to college. But he instead replied, "Come on, sir, let this brain rest first. I just want to work. Want to find new experiences ". I'm sad to hear about my son's answer. I know that's not what her heart wants. He did that just to help support his two younger siblings who were still in school.

Honestly, I am proud of Dewi, my first child. Unlike other children, who force their parents to do what they want even though they know that the economic situation is so difficult.

Some are good, some are bad. Alan, my second child is different from Dewi. Alan naughty is not playing. Not infrequently I have to go to school because I get a summons from the BK teacher due to Alan's doing at school. Fighting, truancy, and other kinds of juvenile delinquency. Until tired I advise him. But as if what I told him was not stuck in his brain. Still, he made that mistake. Again and again.

As I said, some are good, but some are bad. As naughty as Alan, there is still a positive side to him. He never complained when I asked this and that. Whatever type of command I am. As long as what I ordered was not related to school. Allan is also the one who faithfully accompanies and helps me sell satay on the side of the road every night.

I started thinking. Will my son follow in my footsteps? Don't want to go to school. But not. I can't think negatively of my child. It is very unlikely that children today have no desire to go to school. I'm sure that even though he's naughty, Alan has his own life plan. It's just not visible yet. And time will tell all that.

I'm not the only one with child problems. Mr. Hajj, I don't know whose name I don't know. All I know is that he is a pilgrim. Mr. Hajj, that's how he is familiarly called by people. So I am too. The fruit of my selling satay. You could say is my regular subscription. Almost every night he hung out at the place where I was selling. Of course not alone. He is with his wife and child. From that frequency, I finally got to know him. He is a friendly person. When I meet you, I will be reprimanded.

Once upon a time, Mr. Hajj saw Alan. Praise Alan's craft is so, so. Alan just gave his sweetest smile while cleaning the table of the former customer who had just finished eating. Incidentally, at that time my shop was empty. There was only me, Allan and Mr. Hajj. Seeing Alan, Mr. Hajj reminded him of his son who was the same age as Alan. Very different. Alan is so diligent in helping his father at the shop. While the son of Pak Hajj, a lazy person, likes to argue with his parents. Like to force parents too. What he wants or wants has to be there right away. And if her parents don't grant her wish, she runs away from home. Three or four days later I just returned home. Sometimes up to a week. With such an attitude, it would be great if the school grades were good. But this, the report cards were almost all red.

"Then, where has he been in days without coming home?" With a curious heart, I asked.

“I also don't know Mr. Andi, his name is also a teenager. Most come with his Genk friends. " replied the hajj flat

"Then, what did Mr. Hajj do?" I asked again.

“Yes… didn't do anything. I just feel sorry. Why not give him what he wants. After all, I do work for my children. "

I frowned at the answer Mr. Hajj. For some reason, there is something that makes me feel odd. I think, Mr. Hajj spoiled his son too much. This is the wrong education since childhood. Which eventually carried over to adolescence. With all the conditions, Mr. Hajj granted his son's request. What the hell. The more this situation is allowed, the worse it will be. Now the child has just run away from the house, the next day if his request is not granted again the child might commit suicide.

And I can guess. Why do children today can do that? That's because it's influenced by soap operas. Mimicking the scene on the screen. I am surprised that the sophistication of technology today should make them smart, but the reality in society is the opposite. Technology makes them even more stupid. Not all teenagers do that, but most do.

Back again to the conversation between me and Mr. Hajj. Mr. Hajj even wanted to have a child-like Alan. Hmmm… Mr. Hajj doesn't even know how he acts at school. The naughty is amazing. Fortunately, Alan never thought about leaving the house or running away every time I lectured him because of his bad behavior at school. He was just silent and gave a face of deep regret. But it still doesn't change. The next day he did something to make me lecture again.

I just let the Hajj praise, Alan. It was rare for him to be praised. I do not want to exchange stories with Mr. Hajj. I just don't want other people to know the ugliness or ugliness in my family. It is enough for me and my family to know. And I apply it to my wife and children. I always emphasize "family problems do not be taken out".

"What class is he?" asked the hajj.

"who?" I asked back.

"That your son".

"Oh, now it's grade 3 junior high school. I'm going to high school soon. I try to make all my children graduate from high school. " I continued trying to raise my family.

"That's right ... that's right ..." Mr. Hajj confirmed my words.

"Because it will be very sorry if you don't go to school. Regret is not felt now but later as an adult. And it's stupid if there are people who don't want to go to school. " Mr. Hajj continued again.

I gasped, thinking of myself. Supporting my family with the results of my skills in making satay. Not through formal education. And not going to school is not because of circumstances, but because of my own desire. I concluded the essence of what Mr. Hajj said was that school people are smart people. Meanwhile, people who do not go to school are stupid. Then…

Am I really stupid?

Then what about those who get pregnant outside of marriage. which resulted in them having to drop out of school because of their own haram. Even though they are school children. People who have an education. Can they be called smart people ...?

Not only that, how about those officials. State officials who often commit corruption that causes the poor to suffer. Even though they are in school. Have eaten a lot of salt for education. Do they still deserve to be called a smart person ...?

3
$ 1.10
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Alther
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Alther
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Shortstory, Life

Comments