Robot dreams

0 23

Robot dreams

I had a dream last night, 'said Elvex-One in a calm voice.

Susan Calvin didn't say anything, but her experience and wisdom seemed to show a subtle vibration in her wrinkled face.

‘Did you hear that?’ Said Linda Rush in shock. ‘Just like I said.’She is a young woman with short, single-headed thick hair. The right hand is repeatedly clenching and opening the fist.

Calvin nodded. He said in a calm voice, "Elvex, don't make a fuss, don't move, don't listen to us until I say your name again."

There was no response. A piece of metal was brought out of the hut, as if the robot had frozen. It will stay that way until you hear your name again.

Calvin said, ‘Dr. Rush, the entry code on your computer? If you feel comfortable, enter yourself. I want to test the positronic brain pattern. '

For a moment, Linder grabbed the keys. He canceled the process and started again. A delicate design appeared on the screen.

Calvin said, "Let me work on your computer."

Silent nodding was accepted. You have to pay! What could a novice inexperienced roboticologist like Linder have to do against a living legend?

Slowly Calvin began to survey the top and bottom of the screen, right and left, then suddenly began arranging the keys so fast that Linda could not figure out what had been done. But the design has started to show a whole new part. Has become bigger than before. He kept coming and going back and forth, his glandular fingers flying over the key.

There was no change in the old man's appearance. Examining the design in such a way that the calculation of the state inside the head is going on.

Linda was surprised. At least without a handheld computer, any pattern analysis is routinely difficult. But this old woman is just staring. He has not planted a computer inside the skull? Or is the computer itself the brain that has been engrossed in design, research and analysis of positronic brain patterns for decades? Did he understand such patterns in the same way that Mozart could capture the tune of a symphony?

Finally Calvin said, "What have you done, Rush?"

"I used fractal geometry," said Linda, a little embarrassed.

‘I understand that. But why? '

‘It has never been done before. I thought, maybe it will come out with a brain pattern near the human brain with more complications. '

‘Has anyone been consulted? Or is it all your own doing? '

‘I didn’t consult with anyone. My work alone. '

Calvin's pale eyes stared at the young woman for a long time. ‘You had no jurisdiction. Rush is your name. That is also the nature. Who are you to not ask anyone? I, Susan Calvin, would have suggested it. '

"I was afraid to stop."

"It would have been given."

‘What about me,’ he said, holding her by the throat, trying to keep her still, ‘Will you let me out?’

‘Very possible,’ said Calvin. ‘Or promotion may be given. It will depend on what I think at the end of my work. '

He was about to utter the name ‘Are you this ... I mean ...’, the robot would start moving, it would be another mistake. If there is nothing left to be defeated in the meantime, he will not be able to make new mistakes. ‘Will you break the robot?’

Suddenly, with some surprise, he remembered that the old woman had an electronic gun in her smoke pocket. And Dr. Calvin came prepared for work.

‘Let’s see,’ said Calvin. "A lot of work can be done to keep the robot from breaking down."

‘But how is that dreaming?’

‘You have built a positronic brain like a terrible man. The human brain has to dream to get rid of various entanglements and anger. Probably a factor as to why they're doing so poorly. Did you ask him if he had a dream? '

‘No, I told you about the dream. After that, I didn't want to keep the matter to myself. '

‘Well!’ A small smile appeared on Calvin’s face. ‘There’s a limit to how far stupidity can take you. I'm glad she did. Actually feeling relieved. Come on in, take a look and enjoy yourself! '

‘Elvex,’ he said in a sharp voice.

The robot returned to him smoothly. "Yes, Dr. Calvin."

‘How do you understand dreaming?’

‘At night, when it was dark, Dr. Calvin,’ said Elvex, ‘there was a sudden light, although there was no reason to see the light. I could see things that had nothing in common with my ideas about reality. Different words were coming to my ears. I was responding irregularly. As I searched through my vocabulary to find out what was happening, I found the word "dream." After thinking about the meaning of the word, I finally came to the conclusion that I was dreaming. '

‘I wonder, how do you get“ dreams ”in your vocabulary?’

"I've given him a human-like vocabulary," said Linda, gesturing to the robot to be quiet. I thought: '

‘I’m surprised to see you think the truth,’ said Calvin.

‘I thought he would need a verb. You know, "I never thought in my dreams - something like that."

Calvin said, "How often do you dream, Elvex?"

"Every night since I became aware of my existence, Dr. Calvin."

"Ten nights," said Linda anxiously in the middle, "but Elvex told me that this morning."

‘Why this morning, Elvex?’

‘I couldn’t be sure of dreaming until this morning, Dr Calvin. Until then I thought it might be a fault of my positronic brain pattern, but I couldn't find anything. I finally came to the conclusion that it was a dream. '

‘What are you dreaming of?’

‘Roughly the same dream, Dr Calvin. Despite the small differences, I always felt like I was seeing an overall picture of where the robots were working. '

‘Robot, Elvex? Are there people? '

‘I don’t see any people in my dreams, Dr Calvin. Not at first. It's just a robot. '

‘What are they doing, Elvex?’

‘Working, Dr. Calvin. We see mines in the depths of the earth, and some of them are dying in the heat and radiation. I see many people in factories and under the sea. '

Calvin turned to Linder. ‘Elvex is only 10 days old. I'm sure he didn't go out of the testing station. How did he know about the robots? '

Linda stared at a chair as if anxious to sit down. But the older woman is standing, which means Linda has to stand too. "It was important to him to know about robotics and its location on Earth," he said in a low voice. I thought he would get used to being an overseer with a new brain. '

‘Her fractal brain?’

"Yes."

Calvin nodded. He looked at the robot again. "You've seen so much — the seabed, the subterranean, and the surface of the earth চ্ছি it's taking up space."

‘I’ve also seen robots work in space,’ said Elvex. "It simply came to our notice then.

‘What else did you see, Elvex?’

‘I saw that all the robots were overwhelmed with hard work and hardship, everyone was tired of responsibility and anxiety. I thought about their rest. '

"But the robots aren't overpowered, they're not tired, they don't need to rest," Calvin said.

‘That’s the reality, Dr Calvin. I have, of course, spoken of my dreams. My dream is that robots must protect their existence. '

Calvin said, "Are you referring to the third law of robotics?"

"Yes, Dr. Calvin."

‘But you mentioned it incompletely. The third law is that "the robot is bound to defend its own existence only if it does not go against the first and second laws."

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. This is the third formula. But in my dream, the word "existence" ends the formula. There is no mention of the first and second sources.

‘Yes, both exist. The second law, which predominates over the third law, is that "the robot must obey the human command, unless it opposes the first law." This is why robots follow instructions. They work the way you see them, they do it without any hassle. They are not overwhelmed; They are not tired either. '

‘It’s real, Dr Calvin. I am talking about my dream. '

"And the first formula, Elvex, the most important thing is, 'No robot will hit humans or let any human be harmed by inactivity.'"

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. In reality. Of course, in my dream, it seemed that there was no such thing as the first or second formula, only the third formula and the third formula was "the robot must defend its own existence." That's the whole point. "

"In your dream, Elvex."

"In my dream."

Calvin said, "Elvex, I won't move or talk until I hear your name again, and I won't listen to you." The robot apparently turned into a piece of metal.

Calvin looked at Linda Rush and said, "Well, what do you think, Doctor Rush?"

Linder's eyes widened. He can feel the throbbing inside his chest. ‘Dr. Calvin,’ he said, ‘I’m scared. I have no idea. I never thought anything like that would be possible. '

‘No,’ Calvin said in a calm voice. ‘It didn’t seem to me or anyone else. You have created a robotic brain with the ability to dream. With this device, you have uncovered a level of thinking in the robotic brain that would have remained unknown before the danger became apparent. '

‘But this is impossible,’ said Linda. "Other robots think the same, you can't explain."

‘As people could say, not consciously. But who would have thought that there was a subconscious layer beneath the obvious positronic brainpath, a layer that would not be subject to the three formulas? What could the robotic brain carry if it became more and more complex — weren't we warned? '

‘You mean through Elvex?’

‘Through you, Dr. Rush. You have done something illegal, but doing so has led us to a very important realization. From now on we will work with the fractal brain, we will build them with carefully controlled techniques. Here you will play your own role. You do not have to be punished for your actions. But from now on it will work in harmony with others. Do you understand? '

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. But what about Elvex? '

"I'm not sure yet."

Calvin pulled the electron gun out of his pocket. Linda stared at it like a magician. An explosion of its electrons along the robotic cranium neutralizes the positronic brain path and releases enough energy to turn the robotic brain into a lump.

Linda said, ‘But Elvex is important to our research. He should not be destroyed at all. '

‘Nothing, Dr. Rush? I think that will be my decision. How dangerous Elvex is will depend entirely on him. '

He stood up straight, as if determined not to let his age-stricken body bend under the weight of responsibility. ‘Elvex, can you hear me?’ He said.

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin,’ said the robot.

‘Was your dream consistent? You said before, people didn't show up at first. Does that mean they appeared later? '

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. I thought in my dream, a man has finally appeared. '

‘A man? Not a robot? '

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. The man said, "Free my people!"

‘Did the man say that?’

"Yes, Dr. Calvin."

‘When the guy said,‘ Free my people, ’did the guy mean robots?’

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. That was my dream. '

‘Do you know who that man was in your dream?’

‘Yes, Dr. Calvin. I know the man. '

"Who is he?"

"I'm that guy," Elvex said.

Susan Calvin fired an electron gun. Elvex no longer exists

2
$ 0.00

Comments