30 days Drawing Challenge - Day 1

0 42
Avatar for Aki-Chiu
3 years ago



I want to improve my drawing ability. As you can see below I'm really bad at drawing things. Even though I have a lot of funny ideas I cannot present them in words or drawings. I don't want to learn complicated drawing techniques and spend a lot of time making a painting perfect in my daily life. All I want to do is make the drawing simple and easy to accomplish, and at the same time, people can understand it well and know the content that I want to convey.

Just found this book in the library. 

The title is: Draw With A Pencil - Learn funny and interesting drawing techniques in 30 days.

An additional note - from 3 to 99 years old, no matter how old you are, you can learn drawing easily.

This is attractive and gives me confidence that I can learn how to draw in a simple and good way!

So I am going to record my 30 days of learning progress. Hopefully, I can continuously practice it in a month and really change my drawing skills. 

By the way, the author mentioned that you only need to spend 20 minutes a day to achieve it. It is amazing!!

These are what I will use in the following days.

Very simple. Right?!

Lesson one - Sphere

To draw a 3D sphere in 2D paper, you need to know how to emphasize the light and dark side. 

Step 1. Draw a circle

You need to draw a circle, the circle does not need to be perfect. I was always struggling with how to draw a perfect circle without any additional support. But this time I decided to let it go.

I think the most important point to keep your motivation to do something is trying to relax and don’t give yourself difficulty in a small thing.

Step 2. Make sure where the light comes from.

As the image shows, you need to decide where the light comes from then you know how to use the light and dark side to make the sphere more vivid. The shadow is located on another side of the light, and the direction of the shadow is following where the light is. Also, the height of light decides the length of the shadow. It is common sense. But in drawing, you really need to be careful about the light position and direction. This gives the painting vitality, you should play around the light position up and down. The simple way is to take a material near you, like a pencil, and to see how the shadow changes with the light. 

Step 3. Decide where is the shadow

Once you decide where the light comes from, you can draw a rough shadow under the left side of the sphere (in my case). The shadow stabilizes the sphere in a horizontal plane. Even though your drawing looks dirty and argyle, you don't need to care about it, because what we are doing is just practicing the techniques for yourself, but not for others.

Step 4. Draw shadow on the sphere

Scribble shadow on the sphere on the opposite side of the light. Again! You don't need to worry about if it's perfect or not, even if your painting is out of the line. All you need to focus on is the bright and dark levels of the sphere. The side closest to the light is brighter, in the opposite side is darker. 


Step 5. Emphasize bright and dark parts, make the area between them ambiguous

Use your fingers or eraser to rub the area between dark and light gently. It reduces the color difference and makes the sphere closer to real.

Ok, that is what I learned today. In summary, the three most important points today are: 1. Decide the shape you want to draw. 2. Make sure where the light comes from. 3. The position of shadows.


In the end, I tried to draw an apple from an image. I only spent 10 minutes, finishing the Apple painting. I am quite satisfied with the result, what do you think about it?  Please let me know. 


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Aki-Chiu
3 years ago

Comments