The Experience of Visiting Place Panchgani

0 36
Avatar for Aishaa
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Love, Tour

I recently wrote up on the visit to Panchgani do read

It's been a while since I last penned down my experiences, hope you enjoy this one which I wrote just yesterday. It revolves around the places and people who have inspired me since my childhood and who I hold close to my heart.

.

.

I've always loved visiting Panchgani.

As a toddler, the word excited me more than anything else. Panchgani and Mahabaleshwar were an important part of my summer vacations when I was in school. Escaping the scorching heat of May and strolling around the cool, misty hills made me pack my bags faster, much to my mother's delight!

My father drove us through the winding ghats which had very little traffic back then. He carried his collection of cassettes along containing the Beatles, queen, the eagles, colonial cousins and some old Indian classical which I found utterly boring. As we drove higher, the air became chilly and the fresh smell of eucalyptus trees drifted by. Boards with names of different hotels and boarding schools could be seen- a sign that we were close.

The first thing that we always did(and still do) when we reached had breakfast at a cafe and bakery called Lucky's in the Panchgani market. This place is run by a Parsi family and is pretty old but serves the most delicious all-day breakfast one has ever tasted, also the reason behind its everlasting crowd. Steaming hot tea with omelette and scrambled eggs were my personal favourites.

After a quick look in the market, we would head to Mahabaleshwar or stay in Panchgani. Mahabaleshwar was a bit more crowded but that was nothing compared to the present day scenario.

I loved going around Mahabaleshwar, walking in streets with old colonial bungalows and Parsi residences. Once occupied during the British Raj, these beautiful houses now stood deserted and forlorn in the mist and my little imaginative brain wondered who lived there, what kind of life they lived and whether I could spot any English ghosts! We would also enjoy the stunning sunset and head back to the hotel.

One of the worst things about growing up is the very little time that we give to do the things we love. As I grew up, our visits to Panchgani and Mahabaleshwar turned quite brief.

However, we do make sure to spend a couple of hours every time we are getting back from Mumbai or Pune. Yesterday was one such visit. It was a lovely evening with a bit of rain and clouds gliding over the roads. We had tea at Lucky's and did some shopping at the 'unwallas' a shop just across the street run by a friendly Muslim man who is now a very good acquaintance. The market has many such warm shopkeepers.

There is something in the air that makes Panchgani and Mahabaleshwar hard to forget. The soothing ambience, trees swaying in the mist, the essence of the bygone British era or the little market- everyone has their favourites.

One of the many other reasons that make Panchgani remarkable is the fact that Freddie Mercury spent a brief period (almost a decade)at St Peter's boarding school. A plain yet talented Parsi boy nurtured into a musical legend!

While on our way back home, I listened to the Bohemian Rhapsody and experienced the essence of likeliness in the music and the atmosphere. It was as if some part of him was in the solitary cold air. This was also when I realised that he took the same route for years that I was on. I happily believe that his soul has imprinted on Panchgani and so has his music.

Today, the 25th of February happens to be his birthday and I would like to quote a few lyrics from one of his greatest songs, We are the champions-

.

I've expended my privileges

Time after time.

I've done my penalty

But devoted no fraud.

And bad mistakes

I've made a few.

I've had my share of gravel shoved in my look

But I've come through.

.

And I yearn to run on and on, and on, and on.

.

We are the heroes, my friends.

And we'll keep on the battle, till the result.

We are the heroes.

We are the heroes.

No time for losers

Cause we are the heroes of the kingdom.

.

I've taken my bows,

And my curtain calls.

You procured me prosperity and wealth, and everything that gets on with it

I thank you all!

.

But it's been no bed of roses,

No amusement excursion.

I contemplate it a challenge before the entire human race,

And I ain't gonna relinquish.

.

We are the champions, my companions.

And we'll keep on the battle; until the edge.

We are the heroes.

We are the heroes.

No time for losers,

Cause we are the heroes of the world!

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2016/09/06/19/39/panchgani-1650030_1280.jpg

3
$ 3.59
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Aishaa
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Love, Tour

Comments