Note to self: It's okay to not be okay

0 56
Avatar for AishaAhmed
3 years ago

It's Ok to not be Ok. You've heard it a millions times but I think my generation millions or billions of people still don't really understand. This generation called Millennials it's tough we're in tough times, yes we have access to water , I live in an elite societal area yet there are days that go by where I'm not happy but what doesn't help is if I get angry at myself for not feeling happy.

In my opinion true happiness comes when you're content with full spectrum of emotions that you experience and that relates exactly to the saying it's okay to not be okay. I am content with me not feeling okay today. I'm okay with feeling sad today there are sad things happening in my life there are sad things happening in the world so I'm going to have a sad day today. I'm not going to feel guilty that I'm not happy just because I have these material possessions, just because I have a family that loves me, just because I have a circle of friends that supports me, just because I have a well paying job. Today is still not a great day it is what it is. It's tough to block out expectations from other people , from the media. Block out expectations that a man is supposed to be like this or a woman is suppose to be like this. People who live in great countries of western civilization should be happy all the time because they are rich and they're developed countries that's tough because call it first world problems there's still problems we still face everyday challenges that sucks that are serious that hurts beyond anything.

I'd like to think I'm a thoroughly happy person when I'm not shaking with anxiety or depressed and want to die and when I'm happy I can go outside and my mind is filled with wonder I walked by the trees and I touch the bark and I'm like wow and I look at the clouds in the sky and sun and I'm just like wow and at night I looked at the moon and stars and I'll say wow unbelievable and it brings me joy. And then there are other days where I'm just not impressed where nothing gives me that joy but I'm not gonna say that it's a day of depression I'm just saying it's not a very happy day and I begin to notice these days and I don't say oh my god something is wrong with me this is going to spiral into depression , this is not good and go into panic mode, when I wake up and feel that way or when I leave my house and I look at the trees and I just say whatever I'm content with that I know what kind of day that is now I can recognize that it's not a happy day and I tell myself it's okay today to not be okay. I'm reminding myself and I'm letting everyone know who's reading that whether or not you suffer from depression or a mood disorder, I don't want you to think other people expect you to be happy all the time and I don't think you should be putting pressure on yourself to be happy every single moment of every single day no matter what your possessions are and no matter what you have in your life, again there are challenges and problems and some days suck so let them suck, because that's okay happiness will come again but it's important to feel sadness again so those happy days feel that much better.

It's okay to feel angry if you know where to channel that anger and energy , it's okay to feel loss and feel grief because you know that you loved again. It's a full spectrum of emotions let's experience each and be content and happy. It's okay to not be okay.

5
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for AishaAhmed
3 years ago

Comments