My World Without Phone

25 43
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

The last day has been unusual for me, as I have been without my phone. The screen got bad yesterday while I was in school. I had gotten to farm and decided to charge the phone in the farm house as my classmates and I work in the farm. After working, we were discussing and catching up, as it is the first time I was seeing all of them this year, after about 4 hours, I went to check my phone so I could interact with some articles on read.cash. And to my surprise, the screen of my phone was all black.

In a state of partial shock, I pressed the power button several times and watched the lighting go on and off several times. I tapped several parts of the screen to see if any magic of some sort would happen, but my reality was more factual and facts rule my world. @Mhizutty offered to dial my phone number, but we were met with disappointment when we heard the machine voice say my number was switched off.

With different thoughts streaming through my mind at different wavelengths, I was in a world of my own, a world were everything was needed to be done urgently and in this world was the gloomy cloud of impossibility above every thing. I was experiencing internal chaos, thinking of everything and nothing at the same time.

It dawned on me how important my phone is to my life. How practically every thing I wanted to do needed my phone to be functional. Stuck in this limbo, I started thinking of solutions, the most important being how to fix my phone. I needed money (about $30). Money I can't get without my phone as the cash I had with me wasn't enough, and I had planned to use it for something important that day. I couldn't call anyone as all my contacts were saved to my email. One of my classmates offered to give me her other phone so I could put my SIM card in it to receive calls and SMS, at least until I fix my phone. I was glad and thanked her graciously for the gesture.

I started thinking about how this would be one of the longest weekends of my life without my phone. And what I could possibly do to keep myself busy until Monday when I would return to the farm and at least converse with my classmates to pass the time – this was my though for the entire journey home. When I got home, I asked my neighbour if he had any hard copy book I could read over the weekend, but he only had e-books.

I wasn't myself, I felt like a drug addict experiencing withdrawal symptoms. I realized that I am addicted to my phone, I would have argued I wasn't if you had told me before now. The night was long, and I woke up many times to check the time and it still wasn't dawn. When dawn finally came, I spent the first 30 minutes of being awake thinking about how I'd spend my day, and what I would do to keep myself busy.

Firstly, I decided to clean all the window glasses in my apartment. Time seemed to be torturing me, as that only took about an hour. Then I went to peruse through a pile of books that is for my roommate. Looking for something I could read. I managed to pick three books I probably won't read on a good day I know I should be grateful to the books for saving me from the claws of boredom, but I hope that before I read through two of the books, I would have fixed my phone.

That has been the reason I have been somewhat inactive here. But a friend came around today, and I can occasionally use their phone to interact and write articles here for now. Thanks for your patience.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

7
$ 3.06
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I don’t think my entirety will be complete with no phone around… being clicked or being an addict is now a huge problem.. sorry about your phone and I’m sure something better awaits soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot King

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see depression written all over that topic 😂 you won't realize the value of a thing until it has been taken from you, na now you believe say you be phone addict abi? You should have told Solomon to bring you here so you can channel that your energy into A and B farm 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I no just know wetin I wan tell you 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's all it is for all of us. It is after we lost the phone we realized that its our best friend, probably our only true friend.. Sorry about that, you would get a better one soon enough. Sometimes when things like this happens, it us because bigger things are on your way ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words. Means a lot ☺️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Phone is life for me. Without phone, not only can I not work on readcash but I can't also study. I prefer pdfs rather than handouts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, most of what I have to read for school are on my Phone. It is much easier to go to it, only one can get distracted too when using your phone to study

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As of this moment that I am in this platform I would say that I cannot live without my phone because my hardships is in here ahhaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know right, believe me, I can relate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally a nice read. I can’t imagine living without it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words sir/ma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't leave and live without it too 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 I am sure you will find a way to cope without it. Or not 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine living my day without having a phone. I might be crazy hahaha but yeah no jokes, I really admit it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're not crazy at all. We've all gotten so attached to our phones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly cannot live a day without my phone and when I do I will without a doubt fall sick. I am addicted to it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂 I am sure you will find a way to cope if that happens. But, don't let it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even want to imagine it, it's a nightmare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be really challenging when we are used to our phones and we find ourselves missing it even just for a day especially when we use it for writing and other important stuff. But it can be fun to do other things too at times. I hope you will finish reading the books :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too 😅😅 You are right, I can do other productive things too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Phone is very important to us now, not only for communication but also in terms of money, our phone is our wallet so we must to secure it anytime. Secure your phone bedtime :-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, I haven't been able to access my wallets as well and I feel like I am missing out on important things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry your phone got damaged. Phone is an important means of communication and a sound medium interaction with other people. It removes boredom. At any rate , I thank your friend who had been magnanimous enough to spare her own for you. Don't worry your phone would soon come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your encouraging words

$ 0.00
2 years ago