Scam Sewing up Shoes

0 17
Avatar for Aidon
Written by
1 month ago

It was my third day in one of the cities of South East Asia (not disclosing the name of city) and after booking the room and keeping my luggage , I took shower and slept for two hours . I inspected the room first whether or not it is safe to stay there and then I locked the room . I came out in evening and I walked just two hundred steps when suddenly a man walked up to me and yelled loudly , “stop look” . I stopped and thought if I had done any crime. The man came closer and pointed his finger down to the ground. I stopped and asked why did he stop me . He pointed towards my shoes . I thought that maybe my sneakers were worn out. It is true that whenever I had to walk in streets , I used to wear light canvas sneakers . Since I was travelling, I didn't want to buy something which could not be carried in luggage. So this man made think if there is something with my sneakers.
He approached and bent over at an angle so I could not see what's in his other hand. He was hiding a tube of glue . He turned towards me and said that my shoe sole is torn apart and he himself decided to repair it . I asked him not to do it and I am comfortable with it , but he continued anyway and told me not to worry as it is his job . I asked how much would you charge me for this service but he kept on working without answering my question . I asked time and again to stop him and he didn’t stop it. So it made me furious.

Suddenly another man, which was his friend, came and asked me to show the shoe and He also said the same thing. He wanted me to sew the shoe . I was dumbfounded that he began to sewed up the tear with needle and thread. I grabbed my shoe as I thought that the second person will run away with shoe . Now they realized that I caught their scam red-handedly. Now he began to ask for money. I scolded him that why did you begin sewing up my shows when I didn’t ask for it . He was trying to attack me but I showed my full resilience and tried to stop him vehemently . I pushed him away. They kept asking and pushing me to give them money, but I managed to resist them. I went away and checked all my belongings in hand carry bag .

This was the only scam I encountered in my travelling to this country. I enjoyed the travelling in same country and I miss all precious moments that I spent .

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Aidon
Written by
1 month ago

Comments