Phnom Penh: The city of Paradox

0 13
Avatar for Aidon
Written by
1 month ago

You must have heard this famous paradox "I must be cruel, only to be kind," from Hamlet play but you will be amazed to find Phnom Penh the city of paradoxes. Although the city is famous for historical temples and architectural beauty, its modern metropolis surrounded by towering skyscrapers. Phnom Penh, also known as Pearl of Asia, is amalgam of both modern and classical architectural beauty. It offers tourist to enjoy both cultural heritage and modern shopping malls. For instance, I visited Wat Phnom which is the oldest temple located on the only hill. Central market, in contrast, offers exotic shopping malls.

On the one hand, one will experience the noise of hustle and bustle of city. On the other hand, one will certainly find places like Wat Phnom to get away from the noise of crowded city.

I find people mostly hospitable and welcoming. They have been friendly and kind-hearted in my trip. However, there are also some scams which I think is another paradox of the city. I admit that scams take place almost everywhere in world but be careful in Phnom Penh as I experienced some scams. I considered myself lucky not that I didn't fall prey to those scams.

Price difference is another stark contrast in city. One might find garments at very lower price in some parts of city. At the same time, electronics and garments prices are aggressively high. And the quality of products doesn't justify the prices.

What really impressed me is cleanliness in city. Unlike many other major cities in world, Phnom Penh has been kept clean. Yes, there are some places which needs attention of administration, but overall, the city is spotlessly clean.

In the end, I appreciate your time for reading my blog. The world is busy planet to allocate time for reading. And if you are one of them, glad tidings to you from nature as you still believe in refreshing your mind with words.

All photos have been taken with Samsung smartphone. I admit that I am not experienced photographer. I hope you have enjoyed the paradoxes of Phnom Penh.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Aidon
Written by
1 month ago

Comments