I lost a Childhood friend. The pain is too much!

0 7
Avatar for Agbo
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Death, Reality

Thursday, 7th May 2021 was a terrible day for me. The sad news I received spoilt the whole day for me.

Getting back from lectures, I rushed to the kitchen in search of something to eat. You can't blame me though; I spent almost half of the day without having anything. I hurriedly left the house in the morning for lectures in order not to be late. Despite all of that sacrifice, I still arrived late for the lecture. The lecturer was already in, he allowed me and my fellow late comers to enter but decided to line us up in front of the whole class for questioning. I happened to be his first target. He asked why I was late and all I could say was "I prepared late". Not like there was any other truth than that though but I thought I should have painted it better. I woke up as early as usual but the bed held to me so tightly that it felt like I was in a hangover.

while I was still struggling for food, my phone rang. Oh, this is from home! It is my younger brother calling. I quickly answered and we exchanged pleasantries. Afterward, he Went ahead to break the most devastating news of my life to me.

It is the news of my friends' sudden departure! I began to shake. I couldn't control myself. A lot of thoughts ran through my head just in a matter of few seconds.

How could he die? He was not sick!

Isn't he too young? He is just 26!

Didn't he think of the people he would leave behind before giving up?

How would his family deal with this news?

What is the purpose of life if someone could not even live till old age?

What will happen to the plans he had? Is this the end of all?

This is just a few of the numerous thoughts And unanswered questions that were running through my mind as I staggered and managed to locate my bed. I couldn't control my sad feeling which was immediately followed by a lot of sympathetic reactions evident by the passive stream of tears flowing down my cheeks.

I flashed back to the good moments we had as kids and all of the happenings seemed like a dream to me. I didn't know if I should believe it or not.

This is someone I grew up together with. We virtually did every single thing together. We went to the same primary school and secondary school. It was at the level of university that we got separated by the system.

Ever since then, we have always been in touch. We always gist about so many things Including what we want our future to be like, the kind of family we wish to have, the kinds of house and car we would acquire. He was a young man with big dreams. In the face of struggles and failures, we comforted our selves with the fact that there would always be light at the end of the tunnel. Oh! my dear friend, You couldn't wait for us to get to the end. Why? I know I won't get an answer because you are gone! My heart bleeds but you are no longer here to care for the wound.

What makes me even sad the more is the fact that, I have not spoken with him for weeks. Taken away by the numerous academic activities, I was always procrastinating on giving this my friend a call. When ever I think of the fact that I should have called to hear from him but I didn't, it breaks my heart even the more.

But my comfort and blunt answer to the questions above is that, people weren't made to last forever, which is why body cells age and die. Even the plants die. Likewise the other animals. The world is just like a market place where people come to do their buying and selling and then head back home.

It is the legacy you laid down, the Impact you had over people's lives and Your interactions with others that would be remembered when you are gone! While you still have the opportunity, try and lay down loving memories!

For my friend, he's gone but his memory will remain fresh in my heart forever.

I'm not Glad that this had to be my first post here but I'm sure there would be someone here Who would understand my pain. Someone who probably had lost a friend or loved one before. Even if you haven't, I advise you to always get in touch with them whether far or near lest you regret like me. Even if they don't call, you can call to check up on them because the memories we have of our loved ones when we can still contact them, is what we would hold on to when they are gone.

I believe this is a big family that cares and I'm not afraid to share my pain and joy here. I will be doing that time to time so, you may want to stick around.

Thanks for reading my story. Hope to see you again!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Agbo
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Death, Reality

Comments