Difference of Folk and Ethnic, Contemporary Dance, “Recreational” to “Competitive” Ballroom Dances

0 29
Avatar for Aer
Written by
3 years ago


1. Difference of Folk and Ethnic

 

​Folk Dance is a form of developed by a group of people that reflects the traditional life of a certain country or region. Means folk dance is a dance that representing the culture and tradition of a specific region, it also representing their daily actives, through this dance they can also express their feelings, thoughts and ideas. This can be pass generation by generation but then the style or the movements and action of the dance was rarely change, the reason maybe is each generation should preserve the culturethat have been pass to them, in this case if they are going to change it constantly the sacredness of the folk dance will fade. Folk Dance is also used in social activities, in school folk dance was being taught to the students, and students also have the opportunity to perform it. Folk Dance can be perform in competition, and in different events like if there is a fiesta, people may dance folk dance, when their place have a visitors they perform it, it was their means of appreciation. Remember that Folk Dance can be perform by a group of people sharing the same culture or way of life, tough they came from different place but then live in the same way of life sharing similar socialization they have the qualities to dance.

 

​Not all Ethnic Dance are Folk Dance, because Ethnic Dance are usually called “Religious Dance” because of its purpose. Ethnic Dance reflects the peculiar characteristics of a specific tribe, especially their cultural, racial, religious and traditional similarities. It was a dance form which can be identified as originating with an ethnic culture and expressing the movement aesthetics of that culture. It was perform by the people who have the same culture. Their movements representing also their beliefs. Ethnic Dance can considered sacred, because of its purpose.

 

 

2. Contemporary Dance

 

​At first I don’t really have an idea on what is Contemporary Dance. Maybe I already watched it or heard it, and I just didn’t know that it was a Contemporary Dance.  And after hearing it from the reporters, and after watching it I was right. I’ve already seen it before, this dance that was been express in a very strong and controlled way. It’s like ballet, but it’s not a ballet, the dancers are all amazing the way they move their body it’s really wonderful, their movement is like a tree swaying because of air. 

​This dance is just a unique way on how dancers express their freedom, through this they can show what they feel, what they think, what they want. Well for me this is hard, I cannot explain it but there is something on the dance making it look so simple at the same time complicated, maybe the movements, so I can say Dancers of this dance are all just really good. I think watching Contemporary Dance in personal will be fun. All in all I was amazed by Contemporary Dance, I’m jealous to the Dancers how I wish I have that kind of talent. Contemporary Dance is aesthetic. 

 

 

3. Difference between “Recreational” to “Competitive” Ballroom Dances

 

​I don’t have Idea on what is Recreational Ballroom Dances. Maybe I already encounter it but I just don’t know what it was been called. And I was right, so of course Recreational dance refers to any form of dancing that is done primarily for its social, educational or health benefits; it includes social dance and amateur dance instruction and performance. After watching the video I was happy, it has many different kinds, and also have different way of being beautiful. I think Recreational Dancers do it because for fun, this helps them to feel happy, it is there way to express their selves, and their personality really fits to what kind of recreational dance they have. I am amazed and happy at the same time, the way the dancers flick their body wear their smiles and posture it was so nice. If I only have the talent maybe it will be fun viewing myself on the floor moving my hips and waist, well I’m happy to know this kind of dance.

 

​Aside from Recreational dance, it also have Competitive Dance, I think this is my favorite I was amazed and happy at the same time knowing this kind of dance. Competitive dancing is a style of dancein which dance competition is the main focus. Couples perform several different dances in front of judges whom evaluate and score each routine. In recent years, this style of dance has come to be viewed as a sport, demanding high levels of strength, stamina and flexibility. Dance Sport is the official name for competitive ballroom dancing. Dance Sport is a stylized form of ballroom dancing in which the main emphasis is on performance and appearance. In a Dance Sport competition, couples dance together on the same floor while being judged on their speed, elegance, body action, and dramatic movements. In a dance competition, dancers show off and compare their skills with other dancers of the same level. If I will going to choose on what dance I wanted to perform, I want to perform a Competitive dance, well its hard but I think I can practice more just so I can perform it done other kinds of Dance, this dance just caught my attention and I was happy for that. In the end I’ve realized that we have different kinds or types of Dance, so if you have the talent use it, make it your door to enter another world.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Aer
Written by
3 years ago

Comments