She Ate Her Cake.

0 3
Avatar for AdeniyiOla
3 years ago
Topics: Motivation, Life, Poem, Poetry, Nigeria, ...

"You cannot eat your cake and have it."

This was the song she dodged from the lips of the elders

until she consumed the whole of her cakes

and the unexpected happened-

Her stomach was protruding!

She ate her cake and had a result to show forth.

She was below two decades,

she gave deaf ears to the bellows of danger

thinking she could swerve through the heavy cascades

of emotions that suppressed her.

But lo and behold,

lured and with gold,

she gave in!

I wonder what goes through her thoughts,

each day she lies under the shining sun with her belly protruding for the unborn. Whether the sun to her was hurting and hot

Or a soothing companion, I know not.

I know not the thoughts running through her mind,

Neither the thorns of pain she was bearing.

I know not the trauma she was facing,

neither the battles she was fighting.

But I could imagine the disappointed eyes

and pained heart of her mother.

I could imagine the scornful eyes of the neighbours,

and my bitter heart as the days and nights pass by.

She ate her cake and had the result,

her stomach protruded for pregnancy

and she gave birth at her tender age.

She had her regrets and learnt her lessons.

But I salute her strength,

the strength to carry through for nine months,

the strength to bounce against the odds,

She is strong and courageous.

Image Link: https://www.pexels.com/photo/diverse-male-teens-scoffing-at-ethnic-female-walking-on-street-6147105/

1
$ 0.00

Comments